2016 Cleveland Indians Rule 5 Draft eligibles

With the winter meetings on the horizon and the Rule 5 Draft less than a week away, here is a full, updated and corrected list of Cleveland Indians minor league players eligible for the 2016 Rule 5 Draft on December 8th.

The Rule 5 Draft is drawing close and will commence on December 8th on the final day of the Winter Meetings in National Harbor, Maryland.

Here is a current up-to-date (and corrected) listing showing the eligible Indians' minor leaguers for the 2016 Rule 5 Draft.  This list is housed for quick reference in the "Prospects" section along the top below the site banner and listed under the "Rule 5 Draft" heading.

The Rule 5 draft is a draft specific to Major League Baseball and is named for its place in the Professional Baseball Agreement. The regular Major League Baseball draft is defined in the rulebook as Rule 4, and this draft follows it in the rule book, hence the “Rule 5” moniker it is commonly referred.

The draft itself has three phases: a Major League phase, a Triple-A phase, and a Double-A phase where teams select players from the levels below them. A player selected in one of these phases must be placed on the reserve list of the selecting club at the same level of that phase (for example, MLB players must be placed on the 40-man roster, Triple-A players must be placed on the Triple-A reserved list, etc). Only players left unprotected in each phase can be selected.

In the Major League phase, any player that is eligible who is not on the major league 40-man roster can be selected. For the Triple-A and Double-A phase any player eligible who is not on the club’s reserve list and is at a level below Triple-A or Double-A can be selected.

For all the ins and outs on the Rule 5 Draft, check out the site FAQ.

Last updated: December 2, 2016

Aviles, Robbie
Bautista, Claudio
Brown, D.J.
Brown, Mitch
Castillo, Ivan
Cervenka, Martin
Chen, Ping-Hsueh
Chiang, Shao-Ching
De La Cruz, Juan
Fitzsimmons, Jon
Frank, Trevor
Garcia, Justin
Haase, Eric
Hankins, Todd
Head, Louis
Hendrix, Paul
Johnson, Jeff
Kime, Dace
Lee, Jacob
Linares, Leandro
Loopstok, Sicnarf
Lopez, Francisco
Lovegrove, Kieran
Lucas, Jeremy
Lugo, Luis
Maronde, Nick
Marquina, Yoiber
Mathews, Kenny
Medina, Yhoxian
Mendoza, Yonathan
Milbrath, Jordan
Murata, Toru
Pannone, Thomas
Pasquale, Nicholas
Paulino, Dorssys
Peoples, Michael
Polanco, Anderson
Roberts, Will
Rodriguez, Jorma
Rodriguez, Luigi
Rodriguez, Nellie
Rodriguez, Ronny
Santander, Anthony
Sever, Joe
Sides, Grant
Smith, Jordan
Stamets, Eric
Sulser, Cole
Tejeda, Enosil
Valdez, Ordomar
Whitehouse, Matt
Zapata, Jose

Indians Baseball Insider Top Stories