David Santiago/AP Photo

Cleveland Indians to send 11 players to 2017 World Baseball Classic

11 players representing seven different countries were officially announced as participants for the 2017 World Baseball Classic. The IBI's John Alfes unveils the list of Cleveland Indians players who will be playing in the fourth edition of the international sporting competition...

America's pastime has the tradition of going global every four years.

This tradition comes in the form of the 2017 World Baseball Classic slated to begin with Israel vs Korea on Monday, March 6 at 4:30 AM ET.

In regards to the Cleveland Indians organization, 11 different players will officially represent their countries over the duration of the 16-day tournament.

As it was announced on Wednesday evening, the club's WBC participants will be Ping-Hsueh Chen (Chinese Taipei), Shao-Ching Chiang (Chinese Taipei), Chris Colabello (Italy), Joseph Colon (Puerto Rico), Tyler Krieger (Israel), Francisco Lindor (Puerto Rico), Luis Lugo (Italy), Andrew Miller (United States), Roberto Perez (Puerto Rico), Carlos Santana (Dominican Republic) and Giovanny Urshela (Colombia). Former Tribe southpaw Bruce Chen will play for Team China.

Scheduled to make his second WBC appearance, Santana headlines this year's class as a member of the defending champion Dominican Republic team. The 30-year-old went 6-for-22 with two home runs and three RBIs in the 2013 edition of the event. 

The remaining 10 players will collectively be making their WBC debuts with the triad consisting of Lindor, Perez and Colon teaming together amid a talented Puerto Rican roster.

Miller joins the likes of Nolan Arenado, Paul Goldschmidt, Giancarlo Stanton, Chris Archer, J.A. Happ and manager Jim Leyland in what figures to be a stacked USA lineup.

In total, seven unique countries are represented for a group that played at Short-A (Chen), Single-A (Chiang), Advanced-A (Krieger, Lugo), Triple-A (Colabello, Urshela) and the MLB (Colon, Lindor, Miller, Perez, Santana) in 2016.

The 2017 WBC runs from March 6-22 with pool play being held at South Korea's Gocheok Sky Dome (capacity of 17,000), Tokyo's Tokyo Dome (42,000), Mexico's Estadio Charros de Jalisco (13,000), Petco Park (40,162), Marlins Park (36,742) and Dodger Stadium (56,000).

John Alfes has covered the Indians for IBI since August of 2016. Follow him on Twitter @JohnAlfes for breaking news and in-depth coverage all season long.


Pirates Dugout Top Stories