David Richard/USA TODAY Sports

History Lesson: Opening Day in Cleveland

Less than 24 hours separates the Indians from the 117th home opener in the history of their storied franchise. The IBI's John Alfes runs down the odds and ends of the home opener in Cleveland...

There are few cities that celebrate Opening Day festivities like the city of Cleveland.

With the 2016 American League pennant under their belt, the 2017 edition figures to be a must-see spectacle for all Tribe fans.

Home Opener Odds and Ends

- Tuesday marks the 117th home opener in the history of the Indians franchise, 24 of which have taken place at Progressive Field.

- Cleveland features a 59-57 (.509) record in home openers, including an 11-12 clip since the current stadium opened in 1994.

- The Tribe and White Sox have faced each other 22 times in Cleveland home openers, the second most all-time (Detroit, 33).

- In American League history, the Indians own the top three attendance figures for their home openers...

  1. 74,420 fans vs. the Detroit Tigers on April 7, 1973
  2. 73,290 fans vs. the New York Yankees on April 5, 1993
  3. 73,163 fans vs. the St. Louis Browns on April 20, 1948

- Longest home opener winning streak is five games between 1920 and 1924.

- Longest home opener losing streak is six games between 1906 and 1911.

- Cleveland is 19-15 in the 34 one-run home openers played.

- Bob Feller is the winningest pitcher in home opener history with four wins.

- The last time the Tribe tossed a shutout in the home opener was April 19, 1990. They have recorded nine shutouts and been shutout on eight different occasions.

- Nick Swisher was the last Indians player to hit a home run in the home opener, a two-run shot in the bottom of the sixth inning on April 4, 2014 vs. Minnesota.

- Casey Blake was the last Indians player to hit a grand slam in the home opener, a fifth inning blast off Kyle Lohse of the Minnesota Twins on April 7, 2006.

- Here is the Tribe's home opener record by decade...

  • 1901-1909: 4-5
  • 1910-1919: 4-6
  • 1920-1929: 9-1
  • 1930-1939: 6-4
  • 1940-1949: 5-5
  • 1950-1959: 6-4
  • 1960-1969: 3-7
  • 1970-1979: 5-5
  • 1980-1989: 5-5
  • 1990-1999: 6-4
  • 2000-2009: 5-5
  • 2010-2016: 1-6

John Alfes has covered the Indians for IBI since August of 2016. Follow him on Twitter @JohnAlfes for breaking news and in-depth coverage all season long.

Atlanta Dugout Top Stories