Nationals Minor League Playoff Review

The Potomac Nationals start their best-of-five championship series Monday night for the Carolina League Championship, while the DSL Nationals became repeat champions.

Potomac Nationals:
Michael Burgess and Boomer Whiting combined for the only offense of the game for Potomac on Sunday as the P-Nats picked up a 1-0 win over Wilmington to advance to the Carolina League Championship. The Nats will play the Myrtle Beach Pelicans (Atlanta Braves) in the best-of-five series beginning Monday night (September 8).

Burgess and Whiting each picked up one hit in the game and Whiting lifted a sacrifice fly that plated Burgess with the game's only run. The 1-0 win followed two tightly contested games that started the series between the Nats and Wilmington. Potomac took Game Two 3-2 after winning a 15 inning marathon in Game One of the series by a 2-1 score. Whiting also chipped in with a 15th inning base hit and stolen base that led to the winning run in the series opener and finished the three games against Wilmington with two hits in just three plate appearances.

The Nationals pitching staff had a 0.79 ERA in the series.

DSL Nationals:
The Nationals are again champions of the Dominican Summer League.

Three pitchers - Juan Martinez, Wilson Eusebio and Ruben De La Rosa - combined to allow just one run as the Nationals beat the DSL Giants 4-1 in the championship game. Martinez got the win, while De La Rosa picked up the save.

Alexander Romero had two hits, including a solo home run to lead the Nationals offense.

The Nationals picked up a fifth inning run in part, thanks to a wild pitch and then used help from an error and a wild pitch in the eighth to add their final run of the game.

Capitol Dugout Top Stories