All-Star Adam Jones Has One More Golden Honor

Coming into 2009, the Orioles had been the gold standard as far as Gold Gloves. On Tuesday, Adam Jones was announced as one of the three recipients of a Rawlings Gold Glove for outfielders.

Orioles All-Star Adam Jones is the 13th Oriole to win an American League Rawlings Gold Glove for defensive excellence and the first in 10 years.

Jones, 24, surpassed most of his offensive totals from 2008, his first full season, and first year with the Orioles, also improved in the field. He set new career highs in putouts (363) and assists (5) despite starting just 116 games, seven fewer than in 2008.

Some comparisons of the young centerfielder have included Torii Hunter, and now Jones joins him as a 2009 Gold Glove winner. Despite Jones getting his first, he remains eight behind Hunter who won his ninth straight.

Jones' Gold Glove is just the second awarded to an Orioles outfielder and first in 34 years. Paul Blair, the only Oriole to a Gold Glove in the outfield, who also played in center, won the award eight times. His last was in 1975.

Since the Gold Glove award was created in 1957, the Orioles have racked up 59, second in the American League to the New York Yankees (60), but have 18 more than the third place team, the Minnesota Twins (41).

As many fans know, one of the hardest things to do in baseball is supplant a previous winner of the Gold Glove and that has remained true for all O's winners. Each Oriole who has received a Gold Glove ended up receiving at least one more.

The other AL recipients are:
Position: No. Gold Gloves, Team

Pitcher: Mark Buehrle, 1, Chicago White Sox

Catcher: Joe Mauer, 2, Minnesota Twins

First baseman: Mark Teixeira, 3, New York Yankees

Second baseman: Placido Polanco, 2, Detroit Tigers

Third baseman: Evan Longoria, 1, Tampa Bay Rays

Shortstop: Derek Jeter, 4, New York Yankees

Outfield: Ichiro Suzuki, 9, Seattle Mariners

Inside The Os Top Stories