Lake County Ties the series

The Lake County Captains tied the series at one with the deciding game tonight in Eastlake. Fort Wayne TinCaps' play-by-play announcer Mike Couzens has all the action from Game Two.

Lake County Captains 7 – TinCaps 4

Key Statistics: CF Jankowski 1-4, BB; SS Peterson 2-5; 1B Orr 2-4, HR, RBI; C Hedges 2-4, 2B, RBI; LF Gaedele 1-3, RBI, BB; RHP Cabrera (L) 3.1 IP 8H 6R 3ER 2BB 4Ks.

EASTLAKE, Ohio – A five-run second inning for the Lake County Captains provided all the offense necessary to defeat the Fort Wayne TinCaps, 7-4, Sunday night, and force a decisive game three in the Eastern Division championship series.

After Fort Wayne took a 1-0 lead in the top of the second inning on an Austin Hedges RBI double, Lake County began to score in the bottom of the second inning. The Captains' Jake Lowery led off by hitting a ground ball to Tyler Stubblefield, which was misplayed for an error. Bryson Myles then singled on a hard grounder to Stubblefield, putting two men on base with no outs. Tyler Naquin singled home Lowery to tie the game at one. Joey Wendle used a sacrifice fly to score Myles, and Jose Ramirez followed with an RBI single, making it 3-1. The inning's biggest hit was a two-run triple off the bat of Jordan Smith, capping the five-run frame.

The TinCaps scored twice in the fourth, getting back-to-back run-scoring hits from Kyle Gaedele and Tyler Stubblefield. Lee Orr continued his postseason power surge with a fifth-inning solo home run, which carried over the wall in center field and brought Fort Wayne to within two runs, 6-4.

Fort Wayne starter Erik Cabrera was chased from the game after giving up a run in the bottom of the fourth. He went 3 1/3 innings, allowed eight hits, six runs (three earned), walked two and struck out four. The bullpen surrendered one earned run in 4 1/3 innings.

After Orr's home run the TinCaps offense sputtered to a halt, picking up just two base hits over the final four innings. The offense was 1-10 with runners in scoring position, and stranded eight men on base.

Game three, which will crown the Eastern Division champion, is scheduled for 7:00 PM on Monday night at Classic Park. The scheduled starters are James Needy for Fort Wayne and Cody Anderson for Lake County.

Courtesy of Mike Couzens, Media Director of the Fort Wayne TinCaps>/i>

MadFriars Top Stories