Kimberly Contreras

San Diego Padres' Full Minor League Underway in Spring Training

The San Diego Padres had their first full minor league workout on the fields of the Peoria Sports Complex on Tuesday, finally getting 179 players into uniform for the 2016 season. While pitchers and catchers have been on the field since Saturday, today’s action marked the first official system-wide activity.

Normal 0 false false false EN-US X-NONE X-NONE

A stunning 97 of the minor leaguers in camp have been brought into the organization since A.J. Preller became the club’s general manager 17 months ago. They range in age from Venezuelan shortstop Kelvin Alarcon, who celebrated his 17th birthday on Sunday, to 31-year-old infielder Josh Satin, who has spent much of the last five seasons in Triple-A.

“We’re looking forward to getting with these guys to really dig in and bridge the gap between where they are right now and where we’re going to get them so they’re ready for the big leagues,” said player development director Sam Geaney. “I think it’s really a continuation of what we started to put together last year.”

The players will work out until they open spring training games on Thursday, March 17. They will break camp on April 2 to head out to affiliates. In addition to the players currently under the charge of Geaney’s on-field staff, there are 20 non-roster invitees as well as 15 players on the 40-man roster who might ultimately wind up filling in roster spots in the upper half of the minor league system.Thus far, recently-siqned

2016 Spring Training Player Roster

Matires Arias RHP Austin Allen C
Juan Arias RHP Bryant Aragon C
Elliot Ashbeck RHP Wilfri De La Cruz C
Colby Blueberg RHP Miguel Del Castillo C
Yimmi Brasoban RHP Marcus Greene Jr. C
Fabio Castillo RHP Allen Kennedy C
Jace Chancellor RHP Robert Kral C
Adam Cimber RHP Jose Lezama C
Emmanuel Clase RHP Michael Miller C
Sterlin Cordero RHP Ryan Miller C
Jean Cosme RHP Will Overstreet C
Aaron Cressley RHP Hunter Redman C
Adrian DeHorta RHP Zach Risedorf C
Enyel De Los Santos RHP Jose Ruiz C
Rafael DePaula RHP Ricardo Valenzuela C
Adonis Diaz RHP Kelvin Alarcon IF
Louis DiStasio RHP Carlos Asuaje IF
Derek Eitel RHP Carlos Belen IF
Jean Garcia RHP Felipe Blanco IF
Manuel Gonzalez RHP Daniel Bravo IF
Jordan Guerrero RHP Reynaldo Bruguera IF
Justin Hancock RHP Matt Chavez IF
Cody Hebner RHP Marcus Davis IF
Henry Henry RHP Ty France IF
Luis Hernandez RHP Ruddy Giron IF
Sam Holland RHP Diego Goris IF
Chris Huffman RHP Javier Guerra IF
Jason Jester RHP Reinaldo Ilarraza IF
Pete Kelich RHP Peter Jensen IF
Michael Kelly RHP Duanel Jones IF
Brett Kennedy RHP Taylor Lindsey IF
Corey Kimber RHP Westhers Magdaleno IF
Stephen Kohlscheen RHP Casey McElroy IF
Dinelson Lamet RHP Kelvin Melean IF
Jaimito Lebron RHP Tyler Moore IF
Zecheriah Lemond RHP Mitch Morales IF
Joel Linares RHP Fernando Perez IF
Kyle Lloyd RHP Gabriel Quintana IF
Walker Lockett RHP Trae Santos IF
Adam Lopez RHP Josh Satin IF
Diomar Lopez RHP Jose Savinon IF
Braxton Lorenzini RHP Justin Sellers IF
Seth Lucio RHP Carlos Sosa IF
Adrian Martinez RHP River Stevens IF
Phillip Maton RHP Luis Tejada IF
Trey McNutt RHP Kodie Tidwell IF
Trevor Megill RHP Luis Urias IF
Angel Mejia RHP Peter Van Gansen IF
Nick Monroe RHP Josh VanMeter IF
Ernesto Montas RHP Nick Vilter IF
Elliot Morris RHP Nelson Ward IF
Bryce Morrow RHP Brad Zunica IF
Andres Munoz RHP Yeison Asencio OF
Jacob Nix RHP Luis Asuncion OF
Dennis O'Grady RHP Auston Bousfield OF
Tatsuya Ohba RHP Rod Boykin OF
Ben Paullus RHP Aldemar Burgos OF
Mayky Perez RHP Henry Charles OF
Emmanuel Ramirez RHP Ronaldo Contreras OF
Emmanuel Ramos RHP Franchy Cordero OF
Genison Reyes RHP Kyle Gaedele OF
Gerardo Reyes RHP Alan Garcia OF
Greg Reynolds RHP Michael Gettys OF
Bryan Rodriguez RHP Josh Magee OF
Blake Rogers RHP Alberth Martinez OF
Seth Rosin RHP Euri Minaya OF
Matt Shepherd RHP Edwin Moreno OF
Austin Smith RHP D'Arby Myers OF
Seth Streich RHP Jhonatan Pena OF
Jerry Sullivan RHP Franmil Reyes OF
Wilmer Torres RHP Yale Rosen OF
Bryan Verbitsky RHP Nick Schulz OF
Mitch Watrous RHP Mason Smith OF
Charles Weickel RHP Nick Torres OF
T.J. Weir RHP Jose Urena OF
Trey Wingenter RHP
Eric Yardley RHP
Starling Ynfante RHP
Grant Zawadzki RHP
Brandon Alger LHP
Logan Allen LHP
Kyle Bartsch LHP
Ramon Benjamin LHP
Jose Cabrera LHP
Jose Castillo LHP
Robert Cox LHP
Thomas Dorminy LHP
Nathan Foriest LHP
Brandon Fry LHP
Joel Garcia LHP
William Headean LHP
Jeff Ibarra LHP
Jerry Keel LHP
Michael Kirkman LHP
Elvin Liriano LHP
Kyle McGrath LHP
Daniel Moskos LHP
Chris Nunn LHP
Travis Radke LHP
Christopher Rearick LHP
Griffin Russell LHP
Trevor Seidenberger LHP
Scott Snodgress LHP
Brad Wieck LHP

MadFriars Top Stories