Last "Night" at the Q, Rockies 10, Padres 2

The last night game of Padres baseball at Qualcomm as the lights have officially been turned off came after a 10-2 drubbing by the Rockies. The All-time team as voted by the fans was on hand, or on video for those who could not attend. Each was introduced after the game and fans got to cheer for the players who made the Q what it was.

The Friars had just two hits on the day, one a two run homer by Brian Giles in the sixth, his 20th of the season, which accounted for all the runs the Padres scored on the day. Sean Burroughs was the only other Padre to have a hit.

Denny Stark combined with three relievers on the two-hitter. Stark (3-3) allowed two hits over six innings of work.

Ronnie Belliard hit a three-run homer in the fourth that chased Mike Bynum, and Preston Wilson, Larry Walker and Gregg Zaun added solo shots for the Rockies, who had 14 hits. The only position player not to join the fun was Jay Payton.

Bynum allowed five runs on seven hits in 3 1-3 innings.

In the first, Bynum (1-4) allowed a one out walk to Chris Stynes. Following a Todd Helton single, Preston Wilson grounded into a force out to score Stynes. Walker added an RBI single in the third scoring Belliard who opened the inning with a double.

Wilson and Walker hit their homers in the fifth, back to back, on consecutive pitches, to put the Rockies up 7-0.

Stynes scored on a Luther Hackman wild pitch in the sixth after doubling to open the inning. After Zaun homered in the seventh, Stynes singled in a run to make the score 10-2.

Kevin Walker and Brandon Villafuerte were the only two Padres pitchers that did not allow a run or hit.


At least the Padres got a win on the birthday of our very own Kim Lewis last night. This game was tough to watch, but the after game party was worth the price of admission. Each of the Padres participated in 4th Annual "Shirts Off Their Backs" Fundraiser. Padres players and coaches gave away the jerseys off their backs to more than forty fans benefiting the Padres Foundation for Children.

After each player was introduced and gave their jersey away, the All-Time team was introduced to ovations. The loudest ovations garnered were given to current Padre Trevor Hoffman and Mr. San Diego, Tony Gwynn.

Denis Savage can be reached at

MadFriars Top Stories