2007 San Antonio Missions roster

The San Diego Padres announced the Opening Day roster for the San Antonio Missions on Monday. The team has seven members ranked in MadFriars.com top 20, including Mike Ekstrom, Chase Headley, Nick Hundley, Neil Jamison, Cesar Ramos, Sean Thompson, and Will Venable.

Pitchers (12):

RHP Paul Abraham
LHP Frank Brooks
LHP Roger Deago
RHP Mike Ekstrom
RHP Jonathan Ellis
RHP Josh Geer
RHP Neil Jamison
LHP Arturo Lopez
RHP Jose Oyervidez
LHP Cesar Ramos
RHP Jon Searles
LHP Sean Thompson

Catchers (2):

Nick Hundley
Justin Hatcher

Infielders (6):

Skip Adams
Tim Brown
Juan Ciriaco
Chase Headley
Michael Johnson
Sean Kazmar

Outfielders (4):

Pete Ciofrone
Drew Macias
Mike Sansoe
Will Venable

The following players will begin the year on the Missions' disabled list:

RHP Bobby Basham
Catcher Colt Morton
Outfielder/Catcher Jeremy Cleveland
Infielder/Catcher Brett Bonvechio

Randy Ready will manage the Double-A squad after leading the Fort Wayne Wizards to the playoffs in three consecutive years. Prior to joining the Padres, Ready managed two years in the Detroit system, leading his teams to the playoffs in each of those seasons as well.

Glenn Abbott enters his second year in the system as pitching coach of the Double-A squad. He joined the San Diego system after spending three seasons with the Texas Rangers organization.

Hitting coach Tom Tornicasa moves up from the Lake Elsinore Storm to take over the same responsibilities in San Antonio. Tornicasa joined the Padres in the 2000 season and this will be the fourth level he has coached at.

MadFriars Top Stories