Padres sign 19 draft picks

San Diego, CA-- The San Diego Padres today agreed to terms with 19 players selected in the 2007 First-Year Player Draft, including two picks from the first 10 rounds.

Among those players agreeing to terms were switch-hitting shortstop Lance Zawadzki (4th round), left-handed pitcher Matt Teague (8th round) and University of San Diego outfielder Shane Buschini (11th round).

Zawadzki, who finished his career at Lee University in Cleveland, Tenn., transferred from San Diego State University after playing three seasons for the Aztecs. He helped lead Lee to the NAIA World Series in 2007 by hitting .461 (106-for-230) with 26 doubles, seven triples, nine homers and 71 RBI over 63 games.

Teague was 7-2 with a 3.14 ERA (30 ER/86.0 IP), 74 strikeouts and 16 walks in 14 starts for Carson-Newman College in Jefferson City, Tenn., this season.

Buschini, who attended California High School, was named the West Coast Conference Player of the Year after helping lead USD to the 2007 WCC Championship, a No. 4 national ranking and a No. 8 national seed in the NCAA Regionals. In 61 games, Buschini posted a .348 average (79-for-227), led the team with 57 runs and 13 homers, slapped 20 doubles and drove in 58 runs.

Also agreeing to terms with the Padres were catcher Luis Martinez (12th round), left-handed pitcher Allen Harrington (13th round), outfielder Keith Conlon (14th round), outfielder Ryan Hill (15th round), outfielder Robert Perry (16th round), right-handed pitcher Brandon Gomes (17th round), first baseman Robbie Blauer (18th round), right-handed pitcher Adam McDaniel (19th), right-handed pitcher Tyler Davis (21st round), second baseman Keoni Ruth (22nd round), right-handed pitcher Bryan Oland (24th round), second baseman Andrew Parrino (26th round), first baseman Zachary Brown (27th round), right-handed pitcher Shawn Olsen (28th round) and third baseman Brian Joynt (29th round).

The club also signed left-handed pitcher Colt Hynes, their 31st-round selection.

MadFriars Top Stories