Three Storm Chasers named PCL All-Stars

The Pacific Coast League on Wednesday announced its roster for the 2011 Triple-A All-Star Game, and three Omaha Storm Chasers made the cut. Johnny Giavotella, Clint Robinson, and Luis Mendoza will represent the Royals as the PCL All-Stars take on their International League counterparts on July 13 in Salt Lake City.

Johnny Giavotella was named as the PCL's starting second baseman, his second straight All-Star nod after making last year's Texas League squad. The 23-year-old is having a sensational season for the Storm Chasers in his first tour of Triple-A, batting .323/.377/.443 with three home runs, 22 doubles, and 53 RBIs in 325 at bats. The 2008 second-rounder has hit .322 since the beginning of the 2010 season.

Clint Robinson was named as the PCL's starting designated hitter. After winning the Texas League Triple Crown in 2010, the big first baseman this season picked right up where he left off, despite the jump to Triple-A. The 26-year-old slugger is hitting an impressive .330/.404/.573 with a club-best 17 home runs and 54 RBIs for the Storm Chasers this season. Originally selected in the 25th round of the 2007 draft, the Troy product also started last season's Texas League All-Star game.

Luis Mendoza earned his first All-Star nod since 2007, when he represented Frisco in the Texas League All-Star game. The 27-year-old right-hander has been outstanding for the Storm Chasers this season, posting a 5-3 record with a stellar 2.75 ERA in 75.1 innings pitched. His ERA leads the circuit by nearly a full run, and he has a remarkable 0.99 ERA over his last 45.2 innings pitched, a stretch going back to May 26. Mendoza will pitch out of the bullpen for the PCL squad.

Today's announcement rounds out the full season All-Star squads. Below is a list of all of the Royals' 2011 Minor League All-Stars.

2011 Minor League All-Stars

Omaha Storm Chasers  
Johnny Giavotella 2B
Clint Robinson DH
Luis Mendoza RHP
NW Arkansas Naturals  
Anthony Seratelli 2B
Salvador Perez C
Wil Myers OF
Jeff Bianchi IF
Kelvin Herrera RHP
Buddy Baumann LHP
Wilmington Blue Rocks  
Rey Navarro 2B
Michael Mariot RHP
Whit Merrifield OF
Jake Odorizzi RHP
John Whittleman 3B
Kane County Cougars  
Leonel Santiago RHP
Greg Billo RHP
Sugar Ray Marimon RHP
Chase Boruff RHP
Gerard Hall SS

Royal Curve Top Stories