2014 TigsTown Awards: Player of the Year

After naming players of the year for each individual minor league farm team, the time has come to name TigsTown's 2014 Ryan DeWitt Minor League Player of the Year!

Ryan DeWitt Detroit Tigers Minor League Player of the Year
OF Steven Moya

Erie 515 .276 .306 .555 161 / 23 16 / 4

It should come as no surprise after being one of the top players in all of minor league baseball this season, and winning the Eastern League Most Valuable Player award, that Moya would be named the top minor league player in the Detroit Tigers’ farm system. For the first time in years, Moya stayed healthy all season long, amassing over 500 at-bats and doing plenty with them. His 35 home runs set a new SeaWolves record, in addition to winning the home run crown in the Eastern League by a wide margin (the runner up had 23 blasts).

While Moya’s power potential has always been known and was put on display this year, he also showed signs of rounding into a more complete offensive player. In addition to his 71 extra-base hits, Moya hit .276, the second highest season average of his career. He also put his solid speed on display, swiping 16 bases while being caught only four times. Moya also improved his range factor to 2.13, and had eight assists from his everyday spot in right field.

While it was a very good year, as a prospect Moya still has plenty of room for growth. His walk rate remained low at around 4% and his strikeout rate remained very high, at 29%, even higher than his K rate the prior two seasons. Those numbers reflect his overly aggressive approach, which many believe will prevent him from reaching his ceiling as a middle-of-the-order everyday right fielder. At minimum, it’s at least an indication that while Moya made strides in 2014, he’s far from a finished product and probably needs another year of seasoning before he can try to claim a job in Detroit. Even with that though, it was an excellent year for Moya, and one of many outstanding performances at the plate down on the farm.

In 2007, TigsTown named its annual awards after a pair of outstanding Tigers fans. You can read more about Ryan and Brian here: TigsTown Awards Named

Past Award Winners
2013: 2B Devon Travis, LHP Kyle Lobstein
2012: OF Avisail Garcia, RHP Bruce Rondon
2011: 3B Nick Castellanos, LHP Drew Smyly
2010: 3B Wade Gaynor, RHP Jacob Turner
2009: 2B Scott Sizemore, LHP Casey Crosby
2008: 1B Ryan Strieby, RHP Rick Porcello
2007: 1B Jeff Larish, LHP Duane Below
2006: OF Cameron Maybin, RHP Jair Jurrjens
2005: OF Brent Clevlen, RHP Justin Verlander
2004: OF Curtis Granderson, RHP Virgil Vasquez

Like what you see here, and want even more? Sign up for a FREE seven day trial, and check out all that TigsTown has to offer! Including:

- Scouting Reports
- Insider Information
- In-depth Analysis
- Complete Draft Coverage

Sign up for your free trial now!

Follow TigsTown on your favorite social media channel!

TigsTown on Facebook:

Paul Wezner on Twitter:

Mark Anderson on Twitter:

James Chipman on Twitter:

Tigs Town Top Stories