2014 TigsTown Awards: Pitcher of the Year

With the player of the year award announced along with every team naming its pitcher of the year, the time has come to name TigsTown's 2014 Brian Bluhm Minor League Pitcher of the Year!

Brian Bluhm Detroit Tigers Minor League Pitcher of the Year
RHP Buck Farmer

TOL/ERI/WMI 12-6 22 / 22 123.0 3.07 129 / 32 .240

When the 2014 season started, if you made a list of the pitchers most likely to earn pitcher of the year honors in the Tigers organization, it wouldn’t have been unreasonable to have Buck Farmer on that list. A 23-year old with four years of college experience starting out against Low-A hitters in the Midwest League was a set up for success, after all. And Farmer did have plenty of success in that role; it’s just that he found success at Double-A as well en route to a big league call-up. That excelling across many different levels earned Farmer the nod for top pitcher in the organization.

Farmer’s numbers across the board were of course strong as well, posting a sub-three ERA in 18 starts in West Michigan, prior to his promotion to Erie, where he made two very good starts and then got the call up to Detroit. Farmer also struck out more than a batter per inning across all his minor league stops, and would have had a sub-three ERA for the season if not for a single miserable start in Toledo in which he didn’t get out of the first inning.

Farmer has taken himself from being a back of the Top 50 sort of prospect to someone that has already made his big league debut and battled Major League hitters. And if the Tigers lose Max Scherzer this off-season to free agency and elect to not replace him with another free agent, Farmer will be one of a handful of pitchers that will get a look next spring for a possible rotation spot in Detroit. Quite the year for a kid that in the spring of 2013, was pitching for Georgia Tech and hoping he’d increase his draft stock in his senior year to get a chance to pitch in pro ball.

In 2007, TigsTown named its annual awards after a pair of outstanding Tigers fans. You can read more about Ryan and Brian here: TigsTown Awards Named

Past Award Winners
2013: 2B Devon Travis, LHP Kyle Lobstein
2012: OF Avisail Garcia, RHP Bruce Rondon
2011: 3B Nick Castellanos, LHP Drew Smyly
2010: 3B Wade Gaynor, RHP Jacob Turner
2009: 2B Scott Sizemore, LHP Casey Crosby
2008: 1B Ryan Strieby, RHP Rick Porcello
2007: 1B Jeff Larish, LHP Duane Below
2006: OF Cameron Maybin, RHP Jair Jurrjens
2005: OF Brent Clevlen, RHP Justin Verlander
2004: OF Curtis Granderson, RHP Virgil Vasquez

Like what you see here, and want even more? Sign up for a FREE seven day trial, and check out all that TigsTown has to offer! Including:

- Scouting Reports
- Insider Information
- In-depth Analysis
- Complete Draft Coverage

Sign up for your free trial now!

Follow TigsTown on your favorite social media channel!

TigsTown on Facebook:

Paul Wezner on Twitter:

Mark Anderson on Twitter:

James Chipman on Twitter:

Tigs Town Top Stories