TigsTown.com - Wendy Smith

2015 TigsTown Awards: Detroit Tigers Minor League Player of the Year

This year's top position player in the farm system was a relatively unheralded draft pick who had a hot start to his pro career, and rode that start to a great season in 2015 to earn the Ryan DeWitt Minor League Player of the Year honor.

Ryan DeWitt Detroit Tigers Minor League Player of the Year: OF Mike Gerber

2015 Stats - Hitting
West Michigan 513 74 150 31 10 13 76 49 97 16 4 .292 .355 .468

A relatively non-descript 18th round pick out of Creighton in 2014, Gerber hit well in his professional debut last summer, including an impressive eight-game run to close out the season at West Michigan. Back in Grand Rapids for the 2015 season, Gerber was the consistent catalyst every championship club needs, and his contributions throughout the entire season were a big reason why the Whitecaps went on to win the Midwest League title. In 135 games, mostly in right field or at designated hitter, Gerber ripped MWL arms to the tune of a .292/.355/.468 line; all in a league where the average offensive season consisted of a .254/.321/.360 triple slash. Gerber’s newfound ability to be quick to the zone with his barrel, curtailing the swing and miss that caused him so many problems in college, led to an impressive season that included 31 doubles, ten triples, 13 home runs and 16 stolen bases. Gerber contributed in every way during the 2015 campaign, and his performance has significantly elevated his prospect stock.

In 2007, TigsTown named its annual awards after a pair of outstanding Tigers fans. You can read more about Ryan and Brian here: TigsTown Awards Named.

Past Award Winners 

2014: OF Steven Moya, RHP Buck Farmer

2013: 2B Devon Travis, LHP Kyle Lobstein 

2012: OF Avisail Garcia, RHP Bruce Rondon 

2011: 3B Nick Castellanos, LHP Drew Smyly 

2010: 3B Wade Gaynor, RHP Jacob Turner 

2009: 2B Scott Sizemore, LHP Casey Crosby 

2008: 1B Ryan Strieby, RHP Rick Porcello 

2007: 1B Jeff Larish, LHP Duane Below 

2006: OF Cameron Maybin, RHP Jair Jurrjens 

2005: OF Brent Clevlen, RHP Justin Verlander 

2004: OF Curtis Granderson, RHP Virgil Vasquez 

Tigs Town Top Stories