TigsTown.com - Bryan Green

2016 TigsTown Awards: Ryan DeWitt Minor League Player of the Year - OF Christin Stewart

Each year, TigsTown names the top minor league player in the Detroit Tigers organization and awards him with the Ryan DeWitt minor league player of the year award. For 2016, the award goes to slugging outfielder Christin Stewart.

Ryan DeWitt Minor League Player of the Year: OF Christin Stewart


2016 Stats - Hitting
Lakeland 356 60 94 22 1 24 68 74 105 3 1 .264 .403 .534
Erie 87 17 19 2 0 6 19 12 26 0 0 .218 .310 .448

It was a great first full season of work for the power-hitting outfielder after being a first round pick of the Tigers in 2015. Stewart started the year in Lakeland where he hammered the ball all spring and summer long for the Flying Tigers. Not only did Stewart hammer the ball into the gaps and over the wall, but he did so while showing remarkable patience, walking 74 times compared to 356 at-bats. Despite getting promoted to Erie and not getting the benefit of the last month of at-bats, Stewart still led the FSL with 24 home runs and a .534 slugging percentage. Stewart didn't find quite the same success in Double-A, but still showed he could drive the ball when he made contact, getting to total 30 home runs for the season. Stewart positioned himself as one of the top prospects in the club's farm system, and could be knocking on the door soon.

In 2007, TigsTown named its annual awards after a pair of outstanding Tigers fans. You can read more about Ryan and Brian here: TigsTown Awards Named.

Past Award Winners 

2015: OF Mike Gerber, RHP Joe Jimenez

2014: OF Steven Moya, RHP Buck Farmer

2013: 2B Devon Travis, LHP Kyle Lobstein 

2012: OF Avisail Garcia, RHP Bruce Rondon 

2011: 3B Nick Castellanos, LHP Drew Smyly 

2010: 3B Wade Gaynor, RHP Jacob Turner 

2009: 2B Scott Sizemore, LHP Casey Crosby 

2008: 1B Ryan Strieby, RHP Rick Porcello 

2007: 1B Jeff Larish, LHP Duane Below 

2006: OF Cameron Maybin, RHP Jair Jurrjens 

2005: OF Brent Clevlen, RHP Justin Verlander 

2004: OF Curtis Granderson, RHP Virgil Vasquez 

Tigs Town Top Stories