TigsTown.com - Wendy Smith

2016 TigsTown Awards: Brian Bluhm Minor League Player of the Year - RHP Joe Jimenez

Each year, TigsTown awards the Brian Bluhm Minor League Pitcher of the Year award to the top hurler in the organization, who excels at the minor league level. This year, for the first time TigsTown has awarded the honor to a prior winner, as Joe Jimenez is named the organization's top pitcher for the second straight season.

Brian Bluhm Minor League Pitcher of the Year: RHP Joe Jimenez


2016 Stats - Pitching
Lakeland 17 0 10 17.1 5 0 0 0 5 28 2 0.00 0.58 0-0
Erie 21 0 12 20.2 12 0 5 5 8 34 0 2.18 0.97 3-2
Toledo 17 0 8 15.2 9 1 5 4 4 16 0 2.30 0.83 0-1

It's not often that you see a guy that started the season playing in A-ball having fans clamoring for him to be called up to the big leagues by July, but that was exactly what happened with Jimenez, who started the season with Lakeland, earned an early season call-up to Erie, and by the end of the year was all the way up to Triple-A Toledo, dominating each step along up the ladder. Across the three levels, Jimenez struck out 78 in 53 2/3 innings, while walking just 17 and posting a WHIP well under one (0.80). Jimenez finally found a challenge worthy of his ability in Toledo, and based on some needed development on his off-speed pitches, didn't get that big league call-up, but he's clearly knocking on the door, and has the potential to take over a key back end of the bullpen role, as early as 2017.

Past Award Winners 

2015: OF Mike Gerber, RHP Joe Jimenez

2014: OF Steven Moya, RHP Buck Farmer

2013: 2B Devon Travis, LHP Kyle Lobstein 

2012: OF Avisail Garcia, RHP Bruce Rondon 

2011: 3B Nick Castellanos, LHP Drew Smyly 

2010: 3B Wade Gaynor, RHP Jacob Turner 

2009: 2B Scott Sizemore, LHP Casey Crosby 

2008: 1B Ryan Strieby, RHP Rick Porcello 

2007: 1B Jeff Larish, LHP Duane Below 

2006: OF Cameron Maybin, RHP Jair Jurrjens 

2005: OF Brent Clevlen, RHP Justin Verlander 

2004: OF Curtis Granderson, RHP Virgil Vasquez 


Tigs Town Top Stories