TigsTown.com - James Chipman

2017 Lakeland Flying Tigers Roster

After a couple years of being light in the prospect department, Lakeland is going to be well-stocked in 2017, with ten members of the TigsTown Top 50 starting the year in the Sunshine state, including two members of the top ten in Beau Burrows and Jose Azocar.

For a variety of reasons, Lakeland has been light on prospects in recent years - it's not that they've been completely barren, but it hasn't been as extensive. But this year is different, with ten Top 50 prospects in Lakeland, including #2 prospect Beau Burrows, the Tigers 2015 first round pick. Joining Burrows in the rotation will be Spencer Turnbull, who came in just outside the top ten at #11, and Sandy Baez, who checked in at 18th in the rankings.

Moving to the bullpen, and the Flying Tigers have a plethora of arms that will impress. Jairo Labourt returns to Lakeland (23rd) as he'll try and right his prospect status after a rough 2016, while Mark Ecker (16th), Drew Smith (17th), and Gerson Moreno (22nd) will make for an impressive back end of the bullpen in Lakeland.

The team isn't as stacked in the lineup, but still has some intriguing bats. Jose Azocar will get the chance to be featured in the outfield, getting separation from Derek Hill due to Hill's injury, and the 10th overall prospect will impress LFT fans with his versatile toolkit. Another returnee to Lakeland is Zac Shepherd (27th), who had a down year in 2016, but is still just 21 years old and the Australian could still become a force.

For the full roster, head to the link below:

Lakeland Flying Tigers Roster

Tigs Town Top Stories