TCD Awards: Fort Myers Miracle

Here is our 2008 version of the Fort Myers Miracle Batter and Pitcher of the Year. This season, there were plenty of great prospects in Fort Myers, but these two prospects really stood out. Take a look at who takes home the honors this season.

Batter of the Year: Wilson Ramos, Catcher

Ramos is regarded by many publications as one of the top five prospects in the Twins organization, and he did nothing to change that during the 2008 season. He is the top catching prospect in the system, and he showed he could hit even in the pitcher-friendly Florida State League this past season. Starting 80 games behind the plate, and playing in 126 overall, Ramos batted .288 for the Miracle, which was highest amongst prospects that played 100 games with the team. Ramos also led the Miracle with 13 home runs, 78 runs batted in, and 130 hits. The 21-year old backstop was named a Florida State League All-Star at mid-season and overall, which is his second All-Star nod in his young career. Ramos will serve as New Britain catcher to open the 2009 season, but there is little doubt that he could be in the Major Leagues by 2010.

Honorable Mention: Brian Dinkelman (.293BA, 10SB), Edward Ovalle (.284BA, 62RBI), Juan Portes (.270BA, 12HR)

Pitcher of the Year: Anthony Slama, Closer

Few prospects had the kind of season that Slama did, as he totally dominated Florida State League pitching from start to finish. Working as the Miracle closer, Slama saved 25 out of 27 opportunities for Fort Myers, and was clearly the top reliever in the Florida State League. The young right-hander posted a minuscule 1.01 earned run average in his 51 appearances, and stuck out an incredible 110 batters in only 71 innings of work. For the season, the opposition batted only .173 against him, and really looked uncomfortable against him all season long. He posted a 4-1 record, allowed only 43 hits, and should be a late inning reliever for the Minnesota Twins possibly by next season.

Honorable Mention: Alex Burnett (25GS, 3.76ERA, 143.2IP), Cole Devries (23GS, CG, 2.93ERA, 10W), Robert Delaney (23G, 1.42ERA, 13SV), Blair Erickson (32G, 2.63ERA), Jeff Manship (13GS, 7W, 2.86ERA)

Twin Cities Dugout Top Stories