The pole man Newman strikes again

Ryan Newman does it again. Newman knocked off Jimmy Johnson for the pole. Johnson had the pole for 29 sec., that when Ryan Newman went out next. Jimmy didn't get to enjoy it for long. This makes the 6th pole for Newman this year

Terry Labonte had a good qualifying he will start 3rd. Followed by Elliott Sadler in 4th.

Bobby Labonte finishes out the top 5.

The point's leader Matt Kenseth will start 6th. Way ahead of Dale Earnhardt Jr. who's starts 12th and Jeff Gordon who starts 24th.

Mark Martin, Ricky Craven, Greg Biffle and Dave Blaney round out the top 10.


Other Drivers

Jimmy Spencer who was suspended from racing at Bristol last week spun and hit the wall in turn 4 during his qualifying lap. He will use a provisional and go to a back up car.


Kevin Harvick who on the pole here for the Busch Race on Saturday starts 18th.

Full MOuntain Dew 500 Line up

Driver Insider Top Stories