Ryan Newman Gets His 8th pole

Once again Ryan Newman takes the poll for the 8th time this season. Newman was one of the late cars out to qualify. Which turned out to be an advantage. He was able to beat Jeff Gordon lap of 186.207. Newman broke the track record with a lap of 186.657

Reporters kept asking him about the surrounding controversy about how he's getting so much better fuel mileage than the rest of the teams, but he refused to really talk about the subject.


Jeff Gordon will start beside of Newman and Gordon teammate Jimmy Johnson will start behind Jeff Gordon in 3rd.


Bill Elliott and Kevin Lepage round out the top 5.



Points leader Matt Kenseth will start in the back of the field at 29th. Kevin Harvick, who is 2nd in the points, will start Ninth.


Dale Earnhardt Jr. who is third in the standing will start 11th.


Ward Burton who was released form BDR and will drive the Net Zero Pontiac in two weeks had to take a provisional and start 38th.


Failed to Qualify


Ken Shrader, Hermie Sadler, Mark Green and Jeff Fultz.



Full Line Up

Driver Insider Top Stories