Greg Biffle grabs pole for Daytona 500

The front row at Daytona 500 will be all Fords. Greg Biffle grabbed the pole with a speed of 188.387. Elliott Sadler starts in the number 2 spot ran a lap of 188.355 The front 2 starting spots are locked in for the Daytona 500. The rest of the field will be determined during the twin 125's events on Thursday.

The weather played a major role in what happened on Sunday, with cars fighting their way into a strong headwind going down the backstretch.

"The wind is the same for everybody, but it's about 300 rpm off from the front straightaway to the back straightaway," Sterling Marlin said.

Even Sadler said the wind was a factor.

"It just killed us," he said. "We were hoping that going out early would be an advantage, but the wind decided to throw us for a loop."

Sadler coped fairly well with the second-fastest lap, much better than several other big-name Nextel Cup stars. Ryan Newman was 42nd fastest in the qualifying, with Jeff Gordon 39th, Tony Stewart 37th and Bobby Labonte 35th.

On the other hand, Kevin Lepage and rookie Kasey Kahne were surprisingly fast. Lepage was sixth best and Kahne was seventh. Chip Ganassi Racing teammates Casey Mears (ninth), Jamie McMurray (11th) and Sterling Marlin (12th) all ran well, too.

The Twin 125-Mile Qualifying Races will determine positions 3 through 30. The drivers who posted the odd-number rankings in the qualifying rounds compete in the first race, which will set the inside rows -- positions 3, 5, 7, etc. -- for the Daytona 500.

The even-number rankings from the timed qualifying compete in the second 125-mile race and set the outside rows -- positions 4, 6, 8, etc. In the event of cancellation, the top 30 positions will be set from the timed qualifying sessions. Starting positions 31 through 38 are determined by qualifying speeds set in qualifying.

The 30 cars in the field are removed from the equation, and the remaining cars with the fastest official qualifying speeds fill the six positions. Starting positions 39 through 42 are provisionals assigned beginning with the car owner ranked highest in the previous Winston Cup championship points standings who did not qualify for positions 1 through 38.

 Starting position 43 is assigned to any car owner who has a past NASCAR Winston Cup champion driver who participated in the Winston Cup Series last season and did not otherwise qualify. The most recent past champion driver not assigned a position will receive this starting spot. If the 43rd position remains unused, it will be assigned to the next eligible owner based on last seasons final owner points standings.

Gatorade 125 Race 1

Gatorade 125 Race 2


Driver Insider Top Stories