49ers open playoffs on Jan. 14 at Candlestick

In their first trip to the playoffs in nine seasons, the 49ers will face the highest remaining seed after Wild-Card Weekend at Candlestick Park on Jan. 14.

The 49ers, who now get a week off as the NFC's No. 2 seed, will play host on that Saturday to either the NFC East champion New York Giants, NFC South champion New Orleans Saints or NFC South runner-up Atlanta Falcons. The Saints host the Detroit Lions and the Giants host the Falcons next weekend in the opening round of the playoffs.

If third-seeded New Orleans beats sixth-seeded Detroit, the Saints will be coming to San Francisco, where they beat the 49ers 25-22 in a Monday night game early last season in the last regular-season meeting between the two teams. They also played each other to open the preseason in August.

If the Lions upset the Saints, then the winner between the fourth-seeded Giants and fifth-seeded Falcons will face the 49ers in the divisional round.

The Niners only faced one of their possible divisional-round opponents this season, beating the Giants in San Francisco on Nov. 13 to stretch their winning streak to seven games.

Here's the schedule for the upcoming NFL playoffs:

Wild Card Weekend

Saturday, January 7
Cincinnati at Houston, 4:30 p.m. EST (NBC)
NFC: Detroit at New Orleans, 8 p.m. EST (NBC)

Sunday, January 8
Atlanta at N.Y. Giants, 1 p.m. EST (FOX)
AFC: Pittsburgh at Denver, 4:30 p.m. EST (CBS)

Divisional round

Saturday, January 14
New Orleans/N.Y. Giants/Atlanta at San Francisco, 1:30 p.m. PST (FOX)
AFC: Denver/Pittsburgh/Cincinnati at New England, 8 p.m. EST (CBS)

Sunday, January 15
Houston/Denver/Pittsburgh at Baltimore, 1 p.m. EST (CBS)
NFC: Dallas-N.Y. Giants/Atlanta/Detroit at Green Bay, 4:30 p.m. EST (FOX)

Conference championships

Sunday, January 22
3 p.m. EST (CBS)
NFC: 6:30 p.m. EST(Fox)

Super Bowl XLVI

At Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis
Sunday, Feb. 5

NFC champion vs. AFC champion, 6:30 p.m. EST (NBC)

Playoff seeds

1. Green Bay (15-1, NFC North champion)
2. San Francisco (13-3, NFC West champion)
3. New Orleans (13-3, NFC South champion)
4. N.Y. Giants (9-7, NFC East champion)
5. Atlanta (10-6, NFC South runner-up)
6. Detroit (10-6, NFC North runner-up)

1. New England (13-3, AFC East champion)
2. Baltimore (12-4, AFC North champion)
3. Houston (10-6, AFC South champion)
4. Denver (8-8, AFC West champion)
5. Pittsburgh (12-4, AFC North runner-up)
6. Cincinnati (9-7, AFC North third-place team)

Niners Digest Top Stories