49ers shut out of AP All-Pro nods

Emblematic of the 49ers' disappointing season, they were shut out of All-Pro selections for the first time since 2005.

SANTA CLARA, Calif. - For the first time since 2005, when they finished 4-12, the San Francisco 49ers had no players receive All-Pro recognition from the Associated Press, the league announced Friday.

The 49ers had a disappointing 2014 season where they finished 8-8, culminating in the loss of head coach Jim Harbaugh, who "mutually agreed to part ways" with the organization following three straight deep runs into the postseason, including an appearance in Super Bowl 47.

Marred by injuries and apparent dysfunction between Harbaugh and the front office, San Francisco posted its worst record since 2010, before Harbaugh was hired. Incumbent All-Pro linebacker NaVorro Bowman missed the entire year while recovering from ACL and MCL tears sustained in the previous season's NFC title game.

His running mate, Patrick Willis, who is a five-time first-team All-Pro, played just five and a half games this season before undergoing season-ending toe surgery midway through the year. Left tackle Joe Staley, a three-time second-team selection who started all 16 games for the 49ers this season, received three votes.

Other 49ers to receive votes: fullback Bruce Miller (3), left guard Mike Iupati (4), strong safety Antoine Bethea (5).

Results of The Associated Press 2014 NFL All-Pro balloting were selected by a national panel of 50 media members. The complete results of the voting can be found here.

49ers All-Pro Nods over the previous four seasons


First team: ILB NaVorro Bowman

Second team: OLB Ahmad Brooks, DE Justin Smith, LT Joe Staley, TE Vernon Davis


First team: P Andy Lee, S Dashon Goldson, ILB NaVorro Bowman, ILB Patrick Willis, OLB Aldon Smith, LG Mike Iupati

Second team: OLB Ahmad Brooks, DE Justin Smith, LT Joe Staley


First team: P Andy Lee, K Davis Akers, ILB NaVorro Bowman, ILB Patrick Willis, DE Justin Smith

Second team: CB Carlos Rogers, LT Joe Staley


First team: ILB Patrick Willis

Next story:

List of coaching candidates growing for 49ers

The Associated Press contributed to this report.

E-mail Niners Digest: NinersDigest@gmail.com

Follow Editor-in-Chief Chris Biderman on Twitter.

Get updates from Niners Digest by following here and become a subscriber to receive access to premium content and analysis.

Niners Digest Top Stories