Young leading herd to Hall?

Steve Young is the first player from the 49ers' last Super Bowl team of 1994 to be selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame. But he won't be the last. Young, selected to the Hall earlier this month in his first year of eligibility, could be the leader of a new wave of 49ers to join the Hall before this decade is over. Here's a look at 14 49ers – past and present – who could follow Young in the years to come.

Jerry Rice: The greatest receiver of all time is a shoo-in to be elected in his first year of eligibility, which will come five years after he finally decides to retire.

Richard Dent: Was one of 15 finalists in the Hall of Fame selection process this year.

Roger Craig: The most dynamic running back of the team's Super Bowl era has Hall of Fame credentials and made the Hall's preliminary selection list again this year.

Bryant Young: The only player on the team's roster today who can be seriously considered for future induction, Young may already have accomplished enough to earn his ticket to the Hall. Another season or two of top-shelf performance certainly wouldn't hurt his chances.

Charles Haley: One of the most feared pass rushers of his era, Haley reached the cutdown to 25 semifinalists this year in his first year of Hall eligibility.

Deion Sanders: Another shoo-in when eligible, Sanders spent only one season with the 49ers, but that season ended with him garnering 1994 NFL defensive player of the year honors.

Chris Doleman: One of the greatest defensive ends of his era added to his solid HOF credentials with three productive seasons in San Francisco at the end of his career.

Fred Dean: Was the most disruptive defensive end in the game during his days with the Niners, but he may not have been great long enough to make the Hall, though he made the list of 25 semifinalists again this year.

Eddie DeBartolo: His name was on the preliminary list again this year, and no other owner in NFL history can claim five Super Bowl championships in a 14-year span. Legal problems that forced DeBartolo to relinquish the team hurt his chances considerably.

Brent Jones: He ranks as one of the game's great pass-catching tight ends and has four consecutive Pro Bowl berths and three Super Bowl rings to show for it.

Terrell Owens: A few more seasons of superstar performance would make terrible T.O. a legitimate Hall contender. And his playing days might still be far from over.

George Seifert: Won two Super Bowls as 49ers head coach, two as defensive coordinator and was the NFL's all-time winningest coach (by percentage) when he left the team after the 1996 season. But his coaching star faded during his time in Carolina.

Tim McDonald: Went to three consecutive Pro Bowls with the 49ers, and had several terrific seasons with Arizona before coming to San Francisco.

Ken Norton Jr.: Had some great seasons with the 49ers, and also made a name for himself in Dallas, but career may not have had quite the juice of Hall standards.

Niners Digest Top Stories