Webb, Adams Win 2010 Piccolo Awards

Offensive tackle J'Marcuss Webb and defensive tackle Anthony Adams have been honored by their teammates as the 2010 receipients of the Brian Piccolo Awards.

LAKE FOREST, IL — The Chicago Bears and the Brian Piccolo Cancer Research Fund announced J'Marcus Webb and Anthony Adams as the 2010 Brian Piccolo Award winners. The honor has been given to a Bears rookie since 1970 and was expanded in 1992 to include a veteran winner. Bears players vote for the rookie and veteran who best exemplify the courage, loyalty, teamwork, dedication and sense of humor of the late Brian Piccolo.

Adams is the first defensive tackle sine Chris Zorich (1996) to win the award as a veteran. In 2010, Adams started all 16 games for the Bears recording 36 tackles, two sacks, two forced fumbles and four tackles for losses. In four seasons with Chicago, Adams has started 36 of 52 games played, registering 157 tackles, 4.5 sacks, two forced fumbles, three fumble recoveries and 17 tackles for losses.

Webb, the Bears 2010 seventh-round draft choice (218th overall) started 12 of 14 regular season games played and both playoff contests at right tackle. The 6-7, 328-pounder is the first Bears offensive lineman to start 12 or more games at his respective position since Troy Auzenne started all 16 at left tackle in 1992. Webb is the first rookie offensive lineman to win the award sine Todd Perry in 1993.

In all, 54 different Bears have won the award including seven others on the current roster: Matt Forté (2008), Chris Harris (2005), Devin Hester (2006), Johnny Knox (2009), Greg Olsen (2007), Charles Tillman (2003 and 2008) and Brian Urlacher (2000 and '07).

Brian Piccolo joined the Bears in 1965, following a senior season at Wake Forest during which he led the nation in scoring (111 points) and rushing (1,044 yards). Piccolo was not selected in the NFL draft, but he signed with the Bears as a free agent and made the club. He was in his fourth season when a chest x-ray revealed a malignancy. Several months later on June 16, 1970, he died at age 26 from embryonal cell carcinoma. At the time Piccolo died, the disease was 100% fatal, but today the cure rate is over 70%. He left behind his wife Joy, three daughters, and legions of friends.

Proceeds from the Brian Piccolo Cancer Research Fund benefit breast cancer research at Rush Medical Center and the Clearbrook Center for the developmentally disabled in Arlington Heights.

Past Piccolo award winners are listed below.


1970 - Glen Holloway (G)
1971 - Jerry Moore (S)
1972 - Jim Osborne (DT)
1973 - Wally Chambers (DT)
1974 - Fred Pagac (TE)
1975 - Roland Harper (RB)
1976 - Brian Baschnagel (WR)
1977 - Ted Albrecht (T)
1978 - John Skibinski (RB)
1979 - Dan Hampton (DE)
1980 - Bob Fisher (TE)
1981 - Mike Singletary (LB)
1982 - Jim McMahon (QB)
1983 - Jim Covert (T)
1984 - Shaun Gayle (DB)
1985 - Kevin Butler (K)
1986 - Neal Anderson (RB)
1987 - Ron Morris (WR)
1988 - James Thornton (TE), Mickey Pruitt (LB)
1989 - Trace Armstrong (DE)
1990 - Mark Carrier (S)
1991 - Chris Zorich (DT)
1992 - Troy Auzenne (T), Mike Singletary (LB)
1993 - Myron Baker (LB), Todd Perry (T), Tom Waddle (WR)
1994 - Raymont Harris (RB), Shaun Gayle (S)
1995 - Rashaan Salaam (RB), Erik Kramer (QB)
1996 - Bobby Engram (WR), Chris Zorich (DT)
1997 - John Allred (TE), Van Hiles (S), Ryan Wetnight (TE)
1998 - Tony Parrish (S), Bobby Engram (WR)
1999 - Jerry Azumah (CB), Marcus Robinson (WR)
2000 - Brian Urlacher (LB), Clyde Simmons (DE)
2001 - Anthony Thomas (RB), James Williams (T)
2002 - Alex Brown (DE), Phillip Daniels (DE)
2003 - Charles Tillman (CB), Olin Kreutz (C)
2004 - Tommie Harris (DT), Olin Kreutz (C)
2005 - Chris Harris (S), John Tait (T)
2006 - Devin Hester (CB/KR), Olin Kreutz (C)
2007 - Greg Olsen (TE), Brian Urlacher (LB)
2008 - Matt Forté (RB), Charles Tillman (CB)
2009 - Johnny Knox (WR/KR), Olin Kreutz (C)
2010 - J'Marcus Webb (T), Anthony Adams (DT)

Bear Report: The only publication exclusively dedicated to your Chicago Bears.

Bear Report Top Stories