Dent Denied Hall Call

For the second straight year Richard Dent was left watching Hall of Fame acceptance speeches. The Bears all-time sack leader failed to get the necessary votes to be enshrined in Canton.

Earlier Saturday the ‘05 class was announced and is headlined by Miami quarterback Dan Marino and San Francisco QB Steve Young. QB Bennie Friedman and halfback/coach Fritz Pollard were chosen by the senior committee.

Dent has been among the final 15 to be considered for the honor each of the past two years, but failed to reach the magic number of 80 percent of the votes. He was also nominated for the Hall of Fame honor in 2002,but was not chosen to advance to the final selection round.

Dent is known as one of the best pass rushers of his era. He's the Bears all time sacks leader with 124.5 and MVP of Super Bowl XX. He spent 12 years in a Bears uniform and recorded double-digit sack totals during each season from 1984-1988. His career total of 137.5 sacks ranks fifth in all time NFL history behind only Reggie White, Bruce Smith, Kevin Greene, and Chris Doleman.

Dent was selected by the Bears in the eighth-round of the 1983 draft and quickly became a vital part of a defense that played in three NFC Championship games and was the Super Bowl XX MVP in a Bears victory. He was selected as a Pro Bowler four times. After playing with the Bears, Dent also played with San Francisco, Indianapolis, and Philadelphia. During his 15-year career, Dent played in 203 games with 151 starts, recording a total of 675 tackles, 8 interceptions, 38 forced fumbles, 13 fumble recoveries and one touchdown.

The Bears still have the most Hall of Famers of any team in the NFL with 26.

The next two closest to being elected were former Dallas Cowboys receiver Michael Irvin and linebacker Harry Carson.

Enshrinement of the Class of 2005 will take place at the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton, on Sunday, August 7, 2005.

Bear Report Top Stories