It's all in the Presentation

One of the first decisions a newly elected member of the Pro Football Hall of Fame must make is to choose his presenter for enshrinement. The individuals selected by this year's inductees – Dan Hampton, George Allen, Dave Casper, Jim Kelly, and John Stallworth – each played a significant role in the lives and careers of the men they are to present. The presenters include two former players, two coaches, and a son.

Dan Hampton, whose hard-nosed style of play was often compared to that of players of an earlier era, has selected his friend and former Bears defensive end Ed O'Bradovich as his presenter. Hampton, who listened to O'Bradovich's remarks when he served as Mike Ditka's presenter in 1988, was so inspired that he told the former Bears star that if he were ever elected to the Hall, he'd want him to serve as his presenter. Hampton was true to his word.

O'Bradovich, who according to the late George Halas, "Gave 110 percent on every play," played 10 seasons for the Chicago Bears.

Other presenters are Senator George Allen will represent his late father at the enshrinement ceremony. Dave Casper chose former Oakland Raiders head coach turned broadcaster, John Madden to present him. Jim Kelly went to his former coach Marv Levy. Former Steelers wide receiver great, John Stallworth turned to his son John, Jr.

The induction will take place August 3, in Canton, Ohio site of the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Bear Report Top Stories