Canton Bound?

Former Bears defensive end Richard Dent, running back Marcus Allen and NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue were among 74 people nominated Wednesday for induction into the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Dent is a first-time nominee, joining running back Herschel Walker, quarterback Boomer Esiason, special-teams player and wide receiver Steve Tasker, tight end Brent Jones, offensive lineman Gary Zimmerman and linebacker Sam Mills.

The induction class will be decided in a vote of the selection committee on Jan.25, 2003, the day before the Super Bowl in San Diego. Among the others on the list of nominees are James Lofton, Art Monk, L.C. Greenwood, Harry Carson, Donnie Shell, Lester Hayes, Ray Guy and Art Modell--all of whom were on last year's list of 15 finalists.

Bear Report Top Stories