Pro Bowl Voting

Several Bears players are among the top vote getters at their positions according to fan balloting for the 2002 Pro Bowl.

Brian Urlacher, a two-time Pro Bowler, leads at inside linebacker and has received the most votes in the NFL among defensive players with 308,003 votes. Warren Sapp of Tampa Bay is second with 268,798 votes, followed by Jason Taylor of Miami (213,885), Julius Peppers of Carolina (205,057) while Zach Thomas of Miami rounds out the top five (198,139).

Rosevelt Colvin is the second-leading vote getter at outside linebacker with 128,405 votes, trailing Tampa Bay's Derrick Brooks (137,516) and just ahead of Washington's LaVar Arrington (121,772), Green Bay's Nate Wayne (95,773) and Washington's Jesse Armstead (89,865).

Marty Booker ranks fourth among NFC wide receivers with 291,779 votes. He trails Terrell Owens of San Francisco (427,179), Donald Driver of Green Bay (392,495) and Joe Horn of New Orleans (368,697).

Other Bears players in the top five at their positions include center Olin Kreutz (fourth with 67,004 votes) and strong safety Mike Brown (third with 39,396).

Players, coaches and fan voting each count for one-third in determining the 43-man roster for the Pro Bowl teams that will be announced on Thursday, Dec. 19, on the ESPN Pro Bowl selection show. Pro Bowl starters will be announced during halftime of the Wild Card Playoff games played on Saturday, Jan. 4. The 43-man roster includes 21 players on offense, 18 on defense and four specialists including three outside linebackers, four wide receivers, two centers and three safeties.

Bear Report Top Stories