Getty Images

DE Geno Atkins, LT Andrew Whitworth Lead Their Positions In Pro Bowl Fan Balloting

Atkins and Whitworth are fan-approved. But the Bengals' Pro Bowl vote leaders need to pass through two more stages, as players and coaches have a say in who heads to Hawaii.

With two-thirds of the process to go, Bengals defensive tackle Geno Atkins and left offensive tackle Andrew Whitworth are current Pro Bowl voting leaders at their respective positions.

Atkins (289,684 votes) and Whitworth (175,639) were outvoted by Bengals quarterback Andy Dalton, who received the most votes of any Bengals player with 525,638, good for third among QBs.

New England's Tom Brady (701,584) and Carolina quarterback Cam Newton (701,086) were neck-and-neck for the most votes, with Brady edging Newton by less than 500.

Whitworth has been to one Pro Bowl. Dalton, who finished ahead of the Cardinals' and former Bengal Carson Palmer in the voting, has been to two, while Atkins has been to three in a row.

Players heading to Hawaii for the Jan. 31 Pro Bowl in Honolulu also need to pass through coaches' and players' voting. Final results will be announced at 8 p.m. Tuesday on NFL Network.

A.J. Green (316,556) finished sixth in wide receiver voting. Green has been to four straight Pro Bowls. Green finished behind the Giants' Odell Beckham Jr., the Steelers' Antonio Brown, the Falcons' Julio Jones, the Cardinals' Larry Fitzgerald and the Texans' DeAndre Hopkins. Beckham finished seventh overall; Brown was eighth.

Tyler Eifert was third in tight end voting behind the Patriots' Rob Gronkowski and the Panthers' Greg Olsen. Gronkowski was sixth overall.

Kevin Zeitler finished fourth at right guard. Clint Boling was eighth at left guard. Russell Bodine was ninth at center.

Reggie Nelson, the NFL's interceptions leader, was fifth at free safety. Carlos Dunlap, the Bengals' sack leader, finished sixth at defensive end.

Adam Jones was 10th among returners. Cedric Peerman was 10th for special teams coverage.

Bengals Insider Top Stories