Bill Streicher/USA TODAY Sports

Bengals Shut Out Of PFWA All-Rookie Team

Tampa Bay honored with four selections. Cincinnati joins 16 teams without an all-rookie team honor, including the entire AFC North.

The Bengals did not put a player on the 2015 Pro Football Writer's Association all-rookie team. That, of course, is no surprise to Bengals fans, who watched Cincinnati draft last year with an eye more toward the future rather than 2015.

For what it's worth, the entire AFC North Division failed to have a rookie named to the 27-player PFWA all-rookie team. Seventeen teams in the league did not have an all-rookie player.

By contrast, Seattle's Tyler Lockett was named at three positions, all on special teams, and he was competitive (51 rec, 664 yds, 13.0 avg., 6 TDs) with Minnesota's Stefon Diggs (52, 720, 13.8, 4) for the second wide receiver spot.

Both Seattle and Tampa Bay were represented at four positions, but the Buccaneers did it with four different players compared to a pair of Seahawks. The Bucs' Jameis Winston was the quarterback selection, beating out Tennessee's Marcus Mariotta. Winston was the top pick of the 2015 draft, followed by Mariotta at No. 2. Both won the Heisman Trophy.

Five of the top six 2015 draft selections and six of the top 10 picks made the PFWA all-rookie team. New England made an all-rookie player out of the last pick in the first round with defensive tackle Malcom Brown. New Orleans did so with the second-to-last pick of the first round, linebacker Stephone Anthony.

Minnesota was next behind the Bucs with three all-rookie team selections. St. Louis, Kansas City, Chicago and the New York Giants joined Seattle with two each. The Bears had a fifth-round draft pick -- safety Adrian Amos -- make the team. All-rookie linebacker Kwon Alexander was a fourth-round pick for the Bucs.

The Seahawks and Giants had the only non-drafted, non-special teams players cracking the team. Seattle running back Thomas Rawls from Central Michigan is one. The other is tight end Will "Baby Gates" Tye, from SUNY Stony Brook, a public sea-grant and space-grant research college in Oyster Bay, N.Y. that is more well known for discoveries such as the link between emphysema and smoking, a new ultrasound method that speeds the healing of bone fractures and the creation of the first MRI image of a living thing.

San Diego all-rookie kicker Josh Lambo (Texas A&M) and Miami all-rookie punter Matt Darr (Tennessee) also went undrafted.

Two members of this year's all-rookie team have been selected to the Pro Bowl. They are Rams running back Todd Gurley and Chiefs cornerback Marcus Peters.



QB – Jameis Winston, Tampa Bay Buccaneers
RB – Todd Gurley, St. Louis Rams; Thomas Rawls, Seattle Seahawks
WR – Amari Cooper, Oakland Raiders; Stefon Diggs, Minnesota Vikings
TE – Will Tye, New York Giants
C – Mitch Morse, Kansas City Chiefs
G – Ali Marpet, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Brandon Scherff, Washington Redskins
T – Rob Havenstein, St. Louis Rams; Donovan Smith, Tampa Bay Buccaneers


DL – Malcom Brown, New England Patriots; Eddie Goldman, Chicago Bears; Danielle Hunter, Minnesota Vikings; Leonard Williams, New York Jets
LB – Kwon Alexander, Tampa Bay Buccaneers; Stephone Anthony, New Orleans Saints; Eric Kendricks, Minnesota Vikings
CB – Ronald Darby, Buffalo Bills; Marcus Peters, Kansas City Chiefs
S – Adrian Amos, Chicago Bears; Landon Collins, New York Giants


PK – Josh Lambo, San Diego Chargers
P – Matt Darr, Miami Dolphins
KR – Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks
PR – Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks
ST – Tyler Lockett, Seattle Seahawks

Bengals Insider Top Stories