(Christopher Hanewinckel/USA TODAY Sports)

Referees admitted that Chris Hogan made a catch late in Sunday's loss to the Kansas City Chiefs

This was the second blown call that NFL officials admitted to in last week's game.

Earlier in the week, the NFL told the Buffalo Bills that Nickell Robey shouldn't have been penalized for pass interference. Yesterday, the league admitted that they blew a call late on a reception made by Chris Hogan.


While it's nice to hear the NFL officials admit their mistake, it doesn't help knowing that two incorrect calls were made in a one possession game. 

Late in the game, the Bills found themselves trailing the Chiefs 30-22. On 2nd and 10 from Buffalo's 20 yard line, Tyrod Taylor found Hogan open in the middle of the field for an 11 yard gain. Hogan caught the ball, took four steps and was tackled to the ground where the ball came out. Hogan came up with the ball but the officials ruled the play incomplete. Instead of moving the chains, the Bills turned the ball over on downs to plays later.

Rex Ryan deserves heat for not challenging the play, but at the same time it's baffling that the referees ruled the catch as an incomplete pass. Two missed plays by the officials proved costly for the Bills last Sunday. 

Buffalo Football Report Top Stories