Kyle Terada/USA TODAY Sports

Denver Broncos Public Relations Honored With PFWA's Pete Rozelle Award

The Broncos PR department was honored with a prestigious award by the PFWA.

It is a special privilege to cover the Denver Broncos, especially in this unprecedented era of winning that GM John Elway has brought to the organization. 

It wouldn't be possible for publications like ours to cover the Broncos with the rigor and passion we do were it not for the helping hand we receive from the Broncos' Public Relations department.

Accordingly, Denver's PR staff staff have been selected as the 2016 Pete Rozelle Award winners by the Professional Football Writers of America (PFWA).

Via the PFWA press release: 

The Rozelle Award is given to the NFL club public relations staff that consistently strives for excellence in its dealings and relationships with the media. The award is named for Rozelle, NFL commissioner from 1960-89, who started his distinguished career in sports PR roles as a student at both Compton (Calif.) Junior College and the University of San Francisco. After two more years as USF’s assistant athletic director after graduation, he broke into the NFL as the PR director of the Los Angeles Rams from 1952-55. Rozelle used his PR principles as commissioner to build relationships with the media during a period of unprecedented growth and challenge for the league.

Vice President of Public Relations Patrick Smyth and his staff, which includes Erich Schubert (senior manager of media relations), Seth Medvin (media relations coordinator) and Rebecca Villaneuva (corporate communications manager), do a tremendous job of helping media outlets like ours do our jobs. 

The PR department was pushed to the limit this past season, as the Broncos earned their second Super Bowl berth in three seasons, coming away with the club's third Lombardi Trophy. 

The President of the PFWA, Jeff Legwold (, released a statement regarding the Broncos PR staff earning this distinguished honor—the third time in franchise history and the second in three years. 

“The fact the Broncos’ media relations staff has now been honored by the PFWA membership twice in the last three seasons, each time following a Super Bowl run, shows how the Broncos have done in trying to assist those who have chronicled the events surrounding the team,” said Jeff Legwold, who covers the Broncos for “Uncommon success on the field has not deterred the Broncos handling the day-to-day requests from both national and local media with a high level of professionalism as well as a common sense approach that allowed all involved, on both sides of the interviews, to do their jobs efficiently and effectively. The Broncos consistently made the team’s players, coaches and other decision-makers available well beyond what is outlined in the league’s media policy as a high-interest team with a substantial media corps during a championship run.”

This is the second award in as many days the Broncos organization has received an award via the PFWA. Thursday, John Elway was honored with the 2016 Jack Horrigan Award, designated to the league or club official for his or her qualities and professional style in helping the pro football writers do their job.

Congratulations, Broncos PR! 

Chad Jensen is the Publisher of Mile High Huddle. You can find him on Twitter @ChadNJensen.

Follow Mile High Huddle on Twitter @MileHighHuddle and on Facebook.

To get instant Broncos notifications, download the NEW Scout mobile app for iOS HERE! 

Be sure to check out the ever-growing benefit package of being a Mile High Huddle Insider! Check it out HERE.


Mile High Huddle Top Stories