Browns Open With Three of Four At Home

The NFL does the Browns an early favor with the 2011 NFL schedule.

All Browns fans need now is an agreement.

At least the Browns know who they will play.

Besides playing the six games within the division with the Ravens, Bengals and Steelers, the Browns will host the Dolphins, Titans, Seahawks, Rams and Jaguars.

Colt McCoy will take on Sam Bradford on Nov. 13 at Cleveland Browns Stadium.

On the road, the Browns will play the Colts, Raiders, 49ers, Texans and the Cardinals.

The Browns open at home against the Bengals on Sept. 11 at 1 p.m. It is the 12th time in 13 seasons since 1999 the Browns will open at home. Last season, was the only year the Browns opened on the road as they lost to the Buccaneers in Tampa Bay.

The Browns will play on Thursday night Dec. 8 at Heinz Field against the Steelers and will play their first Saturday game since 2005 on Dec. 24 on the road against the Ravens.

"I was really excited when we got this schedule, and in fact, I met with my coaches as a staff almost immediately afterwards," Coch Pat Shurmur said in a released statement. "We're looking forward to opening the season at home against the Bengals, and I think it is good for our team and our fans that three of our first four games are at Cleveland Browns Stadium. You always get a little more fired up for prime time games, especially when it is against a division rival like the Steelers. It's important for your team to play well down the home stretch, particularly this year with five of our last six games against divisional opponents."

The Browns bye week is Oct. 9, the fifth week of the season.

Here is the entire schedule:

Preseason

Sat. Aug. 13 Packers 7:30 p.m.

Fri. Aug. 19 Lions 7:30 p.m.

Thur. Aug. 25 at Eagles 7:30 p.m.

Thur. Sept. 1 at Bears 8 p.m.

Regular Season

Sun. Sept. 11 Bengals 1 p.m.

Sun. Sept. 18 at Colts 1 p.m.

Sun. Sept. 25 Dolphins 1 p.m.

Sun. Oct. 2 Titans 1 p.m.

Sun. Oct. 9 BYE

Sun. Oct. 16 at Raiders 4:05 p.m.

Sun. Oct. 23 Seahawks 1 p.m.

Sun. Oct. 30 at 49ers 4:15 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 6 at Texans 1 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 13 Rams 1 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 20 Jaguars 1 p.m.

Sun. Nov. 27 at Bengals 1 p.m.

Sun. Dec. 4 Ravens 1 p.m.

Thurs. Dec. 8 at Steelers 8:20 p.m.

Sun. Dec. 18 at Cardinals 4:15 p.m.

Sat. Dec. 24 at Ravens 1 p.m.

Sun. Jan. 1 Steelers 1 p.m.


The OBR Top Stories