Browns cut Brown; Move Jackson to IR

Team makes the final cuts down to 53, including LB Brian Smith

"This is the toughest weekend of the year in pro football," Scott Fujita tweeted within an hour of the Browns announcing their final roster cuts.

NFL teams had to cut over 800 players this weekend to get their rosters to the mandated 53, including the Browns. The Browns made 10 roster moves to get down to the league requirement by 6 p.m. Saturday. To do so, they made the following moves. They released: OL Dominic Alford, QB Jarrett Brown, RB Tyler Clutts, LB Archie Donald, RB Quinn Porter, DL Brian Sanford, OL Jarrod Shaw, LB Brian Smith, WR Rod Windsor. In addition, RB Brandon Jackson was placed on injured reserve and will miss the season.

The roster as it currently stands has 11 rookies, including all 8 draft choices from 2011: DL Phil Taylor, DL Jabaal Sheard, WR Greg Little, FB Owen Marecic, TE Jordan Cameron, DB Buster Skrine, OL Todd Pinkston and DB Eric Hagg. Currently Taylor, Sheard, Marecic and Pinkston are starters.

Undrafted free agents DB James Dockery (Oregon State), RB Armond Smith (Union) and LB Benjamin Jacobs (Fresno State) made the roster.

The breakdown of the roster currently has two quarterbacks, four running backs/fullbacks, six wide receivers, four tight ends, eight offensive linemen, nine defensive linemen, six linebackers, 10 defensive backs and three specialists.

Young free agents, but not classed as rookies are: OL Pat Murray (Truman St.), DL Scott Paxson (Penn St.) and DL Auston English (Oklahoma). English and Paxson both had two sacks in the preseason finale against the Bears.

The Browns are expected to claim players released by other teams, but those will not be known until they go through the waiver claim period. The Browns can also from a practice squad which can have as many as eight players.

They were reportedly, in trade talks with the Redskins for OL Artis Hicks, who was later released by the Redskins.

Earlier in the day, the Browns lopped 17 from the roster to get to 63. Those released first were: LB Steve Octavien, DB DeAngelo Smith, DB Ramzee Robinson, WR Demetrius Williams, OL Phil Trautwein, OL Brandon Braxton, DL Andre Carroll, WR L. J. Castile, OL Carlton Ford, DB Coye Francies, TE Evan Frosch, DB Carl Gettis, LB Eric Gordon, DL Travis Ivey, WR Chris Matthews, DL Ko Quaye and LB Sidney Tarver .

The OBR Top Stories