Browns Have Some Surprises in Roster Cuts

New to the Browns roster this season are 10 rookies, including all five of the team’s draft picks.

BEREA, Ohio—The Browns reduced their roster Saturday to the league-imposed limit of 53 players. However, the Browns are not expected to be done finalizing the roster. It is expected that Ray Farmer will be active in trying to add players through waiver claims and possible trades.

Mike Pettine said as much in a statement released by the team.

"I think the 53 is always going to be fluid, especially at the start of the season." Pettine said. "Ray and his staff have done an outstanding job of keeping tabs on the league and I’m confident they will continue to make any moves that are necessary to give us the best possible 53."

To get down to the 53 limit, the Browns released wide receivers Nate Burleson and Willie Snead, linebackers Zac Diles and Jamal Westerman, running backs Dion Lewis and Chris Ogbonnaya, defensive backs Josh Aubrey, Leon McFadden, defensive linemen Calvin Barnett, Jacobbi McDaniel and Justin Staples, offensive linemen Reid Fragel, Garrett Gilkey, Donald Hawkins, Alex Parsons and Abasi Salimu, quarterback Connor Shaw, tight end/fullback MarQueis Gray and tight end Emmanuel Ogbuehi.

Lewis, McFadden, Ogbonnaya, Aubrey, Gilkey, Fragel and Gray were with the Browns last season.

New to the Browns roster this season are 10 rookies, including all five of the team’s draft picks: Justin Gilbert, Johnny Manziel, Joel Bitonio, Terrance West, Chris Kirksey and Pierre Desir. Also, five undrafted rookie free agents made the team in Isaiah Crowell, Robert Nelson, Ray Agnew, Taylor Gabriel and K’Wuan Williams.

In addition, the Browns are expected to bring some of the released players back as part of a 10-man practice squad.

The 53-man roster includes:

Offense (23)

Quarterbacks (3): Brian Hoyer, Johnny Manziel, Rex Grossman; running backs (3) : Ben Tate, Terrance West, Isaiah Crowell, fullback (1): Ray Agnew; wide receivers (5): Miles Austin, Andrew Hawkins, Travis Benjamin, Taylor Gabriel, Charles Johnson; tight ends (3): Jordan Cameron, Gary Barnidge, Jim Dray; offensive linemen (8): Joe Thomas, Alex Mack, John Greco, Mitchell Schwartz, Joel Bitonio, Paul McQuistan, Martin Wallace, Karim Barton.

Defense (27)

Defensive linemen (7): Desmond Bryant, Armonty Bryant, John Hughes, Ishmaa’ily Kitchen, Phil Taylor, Billy Winn, Ahtyba Rubin; linebackers (8): Karlos Dansby, Barkevious Mingo, Craig Robertson, Paul Kruger, Jabaal Sheard, Chris Kirksey, Tank Carder; Eric Martin; defensive backs (12): Joe Haden, Buster Skrine, Justin Gilbert, Aaron Berry, Pierre Desir, Robert Nelson, K’Waun Williams, Donte Whitner, Tashaun Gipson, Jim Leonhard, Johnson Bademosi, Jordan Poyer.

Specialists (3)

Kicker (1): Billy Cundiff; punter (1): Spencer Lanning; long snapper (1): Christian Yount.

The OBR Top Stories