Permanent captains named

It took most of the season, but the Browns have elected permanent captains.

Coach Butch Davis asked the players to vote for captains to replace the system of revolving captains. Tim Couch and Dave Wohlabaugh were the selections of the players on the offensive side. Jamir Miller and Corey Fuller were the offensive picks, and Chris Gardocki and Brant Boyer were selected on special teams.

Miller received 61 of a possible 66 votes.

"The team voted for guys that they felt exhibited great leadership, performance, work ethic and practice habits," Davis said. "As a football player, I don't think there's a better honor than to be voted a captain by your peers. It's one thing to be voted by me or an assistant coach and we say, ‘Let's reward this guy this week because he had a good game last week, or we're playing close to a player's home and let's make him a captain.' "

Davis wants the captains to take an active role in their responsibilities. "When you start establishing people in that locker room as leaders who have just as much invested as everyone else, they're not going to let one or two guys disrupt the success of the team. They're not going to let guys hang out to 2 or 3 in the morning two or three days before the game. It will never get to the coach."

INJURY UPDATE: H-back Aaron Shea has been placed on reserve-injured with a severe left shoulder bruise. Davis said Shea was upset because he didn't want anyone to think he didn't have the heart to play hurt.

"His biggest concern was that I would think that he isn't very tough," Davis said. "I told him that he's already had 14 weeks of bruising. No one would ever question his toughness, his character or his courage. I honestly believe that he would play this week, knowing that he is hurt."

Derrick Ham was promoted to the active roster to replace Shea.

PRO BOWL TIME: Coaches and players for the league's 31 teams conducted voting Thursday for the Pro Bowl. Teams can't vote for its players, but Davis expressed a few opinions about Browns that are deserving of the honor.

Davis singled out linebacker Jamir Miller, cornerback Anthony Henry and kicker Phil Dawson. As a rookie, Henry, who has nine interceptions, would appear to be a longshot.

AWARD TIME: Middle linebacker Wali Rainer has been named the 2001 Cleveland Browns Man of the Year for his community services. As the team's selection, a contribution of $1,000 will be donated to Boys and Girls Clubs of Greater Cleveland on behalf of Wali Rainer and NFL Charities.

Offensive lineman Jeremy McKinney has been chosen by his teammates as winner of the Ed Block Courage Award. McKinney missed last season after suffering a knee injury during a preseason game against Chicago. He returned this season and opened the season at right guard.

The OBR Top Stories