Terms for three rookie contracts revealed

Tampa Bay has four draft picks left to sign, but the terms of three contracts the Bucs have already agreed to with second-day draft choices have been disclosed.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers paid out $353,500 in signing bonuses to Greg Peterson, Adam Hayward and Chris Denman, three of their most recent rookie signings, in information obtained by BucsBlitz.com through Scout.com and Foxsports.com NFL expert Adam Caplan.

Each recently signed a four-year contract, the standard length deal for a second-day selection.

Peterson, a fifth-round pick out of North Carolina Central got the highest bonus. The defensive end/tackle received a $192,000 signing bonus.

Adam Hayward, a linebacker and sixth-round pick from Portland State, obtained a $101,000 signing bonus.

Chris Denman, a seventh-round pick and tackle out of Fresno State, received a $60,500 signing bonus.

Most NFL clubs pro-rate signing bonuses over the life of the contract to lessen the impact on the salary cap. It is not clear if the Buccaneers will do that with these contracts.

All three players will make the same base salaries the next four years — $285,000 in 2007, $370,000 in 2008, $460,000 in 2009 and $550,000 in 2010.

Those are minimum base salaries set by a player's service time, according to the NFL Players' Association.

As of Sunday at 10:15 a.m., four Buccaneers draft choices remain unsigned — defensive end Gaines Adams, guard Arron Sears, safety Sabby Piscitelli and linebacker Quincy Black. The Buccaneers have not had a first-round holdout since 1999.

Matthew Postins covers the Buccaneers for BucsBlitz.com and the Charlotte Sun-Herald in Port Charlotte, Fla. He is a member of the Pro Football Writers Association. Included among his more than two dozen writing and editing awards are national awards from the PFWA, the National Newspaper Association and the Associated Press Sports Editors, and state awards from the Florida Press Club and the Florida Sports Writers Association, for his coverage of the Buccaneers since 2004.

Bucs Blitz Top Stories