Owens among first roster cuts

Tampa Bay made several cuts to reach the 75-man limit mandated by the NFL on Monday. Most of the players were third- and fourth-string players.

The Tampa Bay Buccaneers on Monday announced that they have released WR Jovon Bouknight, G/C Jonathan Clinkscale, DE Tim Jones, T Jabari Levey, C Nick Mihlhauser, WR Chad Owens, DE Jeremy Pittman, WR Kyle Smith and FB Zach Tuiasosopo.

Mihlhauser spent part of last season on Tampa Bay's active roster after being signed on November 27, 2006. Bouknight, Clinkscale, Owens and Smith were signed by Tampa Bay on January 17. Jones was signed on July 31, Levey on July 2, Pittman on June 19 and Tuiasosopo on August 13.

The final roster cuts are due by 4 p.m. Saturday, when the Bucs must be down to 53 players.

Bucs Blitz Top Stories