Kurt Warner selected to Pro Football Hall of Fame

Former Arizona Cardinals' quarterback Kurt Warner was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame on Saturday and will be inducted on Saturday, August 5 in Canton, Ohio.

Ahead of Super Bowl Sunday, the Arizona Cardinals were reminded of their only visit to the game's greatest stage. 

On Saturday afternoon, former Cardinals' quarterback Kurt Warner was selected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame, becoming the 13th member of the Cardinals' organization to earn the honor and the first quarterback in franchise history to be selected. 

"This is an extraordinary honor for an extraordinary person," Cardinals president Michael Bidwill said. "Every day and in every possible way Kurt Warner has demonstrated the excellence for which the Hall of Fame stands and we are thrilled to see him take his rightful place among the game's all-time greats."

Warner joins kicker Morten Anderson, running back Terrell Davis, safety Kenny Easley, defensive end Jason Taylor, running back LaDainian Tomlinson and Dallas Cowboys' owner Jerry Jones in the 2017 Hall of Fame class. 

Warner spent five seasons in Arizona, including the 2008 campaign when he led the Cardinals to their first Super Bowl appearance, which culminated in a 27-23 defeat at the hands of the Pittsburgh Steelers. 

Warner began his NFL career in 1998 with the St. Louis Rams before joining the New York Giants in 2004. Following the 2004 season, the Cardinals acquired Warner and he started 57 of the team's next 61 regular season games. 

A two-time NFL MVP and the MVP of Super Bowl XXXIV, Warner is one of just three quarterbacks in NFL history (Peyton Manning, Craig Morton) to lead two different NFL franchises to the Super Bowl.

Warner's best statistical seasons came early in his career with the Rams, but after joining the Cardinals in 2005, Warner put together three straight seasons in which he threw for at least 3,400 yards and 26 touchdowns. In Warner's final two seasons with Arizona, he led the team to records of 9-7 and 10-6, and at the age of 37, became the first quarterback to lead the franchise to a Super Bowl.

During the Cardinals' run to the Super Bowl in 2008, Warner completed 68 percent of his passes in the playoffs, throwing 11 touchdowns and just three interceptions.

Warner is the first Arizona player to be selected to the Hall of Fame since cornerback Aeneas Williams received the honor in 2014. Of the 13 members of the Cardinals franchise who have been selected to the Hall of Fame, eight were inducted in the 1960s and 1970s. 

Warner and the rest of the 2017 Hall of Fame Class will be inducted on August 5, 2017 at the Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony in Canton, Ohio. 

LA Rams Report Top Stories