Cardinals Playmakers to Say Aloha

The 2009 NFL Pro Bowl roster was announced Tuesday, and the Cardinals are well represented. Arizona will send five playmakers, all of which will be starters. After lending just two players last year, with only one starter, the Cardinals are getting some respect. Find out who made the team.

After losing a job to Eli Manning back in his New York Giants days, Kurt Warner will get the bid for the NFC starting quarterback at the 2009 Pro Bowl. Manning will be a reserve as will Drew Brees.

Warner starting over Brees could also indicate MVP notions in Warner's favor.

Warner will throw to his favorite duo in Hawaii. Larry Fitzgerald and Anquan Boldin, who are often referred to, as the best receiver tandem in the league, will take the two starting receiver roles. Fitzgerald and Boldin beat out Steve Smith (Carolina Panthers) and Roddy White (Atlanta Falcons).

Adrian Wilson will start at strong safety. At free safety will be Nick Collins (Green Bay Packers).

Sean Morey will be a starting Special Teamer. His bid was due to his blocked punt in the Cardinals overtime win against the Dallas Cowboys.

Notably off the list is any of the Cardinals defensive-front seven. Last year, Fitzgerald and Darnell Dockett were the only members of the Cardinals organization to head to Hawaii. Dockett was called up due to injury and was a reserve.

CardinalsSource Top Stories