San Diego Chargers Luncheon

The San Diego Chargers held their annual luncheon at the San Diego Convention Center on Thursday and all those in attendance got to see lots of comedy and even a hit single.

The San Diego International Sports Council and San Diego Hall of Champions sponsored the event. A good turnout saw most of the Chargers in attendance and Billy Ray Smith and Hank Bauer were the MC's.

BR was decked out in a casual suit with a nice shirt and sandals. "We are in San Diego", he said when we confronted him about his look.

Bauer had his shaved head look and quipped, "I was signing Tim Dwight's autograph out in the lobby before we came in here."

Several Chargers were not in attendance for unknown reasons. Drayton Florence, Sammy Davis, and Terrence Kiel were the most notable among the no-shows. There were others and most, if not all, of them were rookies.

LaDainian Tomlinson accepted his awards for Chargers Offensive Player of the Year and Team MVP. Tomlinson also noted that he had already seen Lorenzo Neal, his new lead fullback this year, "Head butting people." He even showed the move with a head butt into the air.

Carlos Polk got his Special Teams Player of the Year award for leading the team in special teams tackles with 12. Jason Ball received Lineman of the Year for his work replacing Cory Raymer who went down with an injury in game three last year.

Donnie Edwards got his well deserved Defensive Player of the Year award and told everyone in attendance that he would have returned another interception for a touchdown, "If someone would have blocked for me."

After a few moments scanning the crowd he responded in a deeper tone, "Ray Lee (Johnson)!"

The Robert Breitbard Award, honoring members of the community who have furthered the mission of the San Diego International Sports Council, went to Chargers owner Alex Spanos.

Patti Roscoe presented the award and detailed the economic impact of the past two Super Bowls. She also went on to say, "Pat Summerall and John Madden said it best, ‘They should put the game here permanently'".

The Award named in honor of one of the Sports Councils ten founding members, Bob Breitbard, who in 1960, had the vision to establish an organization (then known as the Greater San Diego Sports Association) that would seek to bring sporting events and teams to our community.

Spanos earned the award for bringing two Super Bowls to the city of San Diego in a span of five years. Spanos was quick to recognize his son and team President, Dean, for the work he provided in bringing Super Bowls to San Diego.

He also promised, "We will bring a third Super Bowl to San Diego."

Denis Savage can be reached at

BoltsReport Top Stories