Hall of Famers praise Tomlinson

When Hall of Famers are talking about your success, you know you are good. That was never a question for San Diego Chargers running back LaDainian Tomlinson. Now he has his heart set on leading the league in rushing – and we believe him. He is inches away from tying one record and more will fall before his mighty legs when it is said and done.

Like the lightening bolt emblazoned on each side of his helmet, LaDainian Tomlinson is a surge of speed, energy and power that is uncommon.

Also extraordinary is the way he scores touchdowns.

Entering the 2005 season, the 5-foot-10, 221-pounder has scored a rushing touchdown in 12 consecutive games, one shy of tying the record currently shared by a pair of former Washington Redskins:

Pro Football Hall of Famer John Riggins (1982-83) and George Rogers (1985-86).

Tomlinson has rushed for a score in 16 of his past 17 games. The Chargers host Dallas on Kickoff Weekend and in Week 2 visit AFC West rival Denver. The Broncos were the last team to deny Tomlinson a rushing touchdown – Week 3 of last season in Denver.

Asked to point out what makes the Chargers' 25-year-old rusher so successful, co-record holder Riggins says, "Vision first, instinct second. Chaos is the one constant in a line of scrimmage at the snap. Backs that can see and feel daylight are more successful than the ones that lack these assets."

Another Hall of Famer cites Tomlinson's multi-talents.

"He has great combination of speed, power and vision," says Pro Football Hall of Famer and former Detroit Lions running back Barry Sanders. "And he can catch the ball out of the back field. He is like Marshall (Faulk) – you have to cover him on every play.

"I tried to score on every play," adds Sanders, "and I think L.T. likes to challenge himself like that."

"I have high goals," said Tomlinson. "I want to surpass the 2,000 mark and lead the league in rushing."

A look at the all-time longest streaks of consecutive games with a rushing touchdown:

John Riggins 13 Washington Redskins 1982-83
George Rogers 13 Washington Redskins 1985-86
LaDainian Tomlinson 12 San Diego Chargers 2004-Present
Lenny Moore 11 Baltimore Colts 1963-64
Emmitt Smith 11 Dallas Cowboys 1994-95
Emmitt Smith 11 Dallas Cowboys 1995
Priest Holmes 11 Kansas City Chiefs 2002

SD Super Chargers Top Stories