Six Chargers net Pro Bowl honors

Six San Diego Chargers have been honored with Pro Bowl roster spots and two others are listed as alternatives.

Running back LaDainian Tomlinson and his battering ram, fullback Lorenzo Neal, were voted to the squad along with tight end Antonio Gates. Defensive tackle Jamal Williams and rookie linebacker Shawne Merriman will represent the defense, and they'll be joined by special teams standout Hanik Milligan. The six were selected by a national vote of NFL players, coaches and fans.

The Pro Bowl, pitting the best of the AFC versus the NFC, is scheduled to be played on Sunday, Feb. 12 in Honolulu.

Two other Chargers – quarterback Drew Brees and punter Mike Scifres – finished as first and second alternates, respectively, in the voting and will join the squad should the players selected be unable to participate due to injury.

Tomlinson was selected to the team for the third time in his first five seasons. He also played in the game following the 2002 and ‘04 seasons. Neal and Gates will be playing in their second Pro Bowls. Williams, Merriman and Milligan earned the recognition for the first time.

The six selections are the most chosen since seven players were voted to the team following the 1982 season. The most players ever chosen from one season is eight following the 1980 season.

SD Super Chargers Top Stories