The Ultimate Depth Chart

The Chargers official depth chart won't be finalized for a few more weeks, but that doesn't mean the unofficial version can't be assembled and analyzed right now.

There are still a few spots to be determined. One spot is being held for Roman Oben, but if his left foot doesn't improve then that goes to Jeromey Clary. Donnie Edwards and Hanik Milligan will both make the team if they aren't traded; moving Edwards opens a place for Markus Curry, while moving Milligan allows Andre Lott to make the team.

Some competitions are ongoing, too. Cory Withrow will have to hold off youngsters Wes Sims and Jimmy Martin; Malcom Floyd will have to stay healthy to keep Greg Camarillo from taking his spot; and Marques Harris must hold off a fast-charging Akbar Gbaja-Biamila.

Other players are subject to a numbers game. With the team considering keeping four tight ends, 10 linebackers and five safeties, it may have to skimp on its running backs, defensive linemen and cornerbacks. The result may be a depth chart with an unusual spread to it, but it's worth it if it keeps the best 53 players on the team.

With that in mind, here is the projected depth chart for the 2006 Chargers:


QB: Philip Rivers, A.J. Feely, Charlie Whitehurst
RB: LaDainian Tomlinson, Michael Turner
FB: Lorenzo Neal, Andrew Pinnock
LT: Roman Oben, Marcus McNeill
LG: Kris Dielman
C: Nick Hardwick, Cory Withrow
RG: Mike Goff, Scott Mruczkowski
RT: Shane Olivea, Leander Jordan
TE: Antonio Gates, Brandon Manumaleuna, Aaron Shea, Ryan Krause
WR: Keenan McCardell, Vincent Jackson
WR: Eric Parker, Kassim Osgood, Malcom Floyd


DE: Luis Castillo, Derreck Robinson
NT: Jamal Williams, Ryon Bingham
DE: Igor Olshansky, Jacques Cesaire
OLB: Shawne Merriman, Marques Harris, Carlos Polk
ILB: Randall Godfrey, Stephen Cooper, Tim Dobbins
ILB: Donnie Edwards, Matt Wilhelm
OLB: Steve Foley, Shaun Phillips
CB: Quentin Jammer, Cletis Gordon
CB: Drayton Florence, Antonio Cromartie
FS: Marlon McCree, Bhawoh Jue, Hanik Milligan
SS: Terrence Kiel, Clinton Hart


K: Nate Keading
P: Mike Scifres
LS: David Binn

Practice Squad: RB- Ray Perkins; WR- Greg Camarillo, OT – Jeromey Clary; OG – Wes Sims and Cory Lekkerkerker; DE – Chase Page; CB – Markus Curry; K- Kurt Smith

BoltsReport Top Stories