Chargers make roster cuts

The Chargers released 21 players today to reach the NFL's mandatory 53-man roster limit.

WR Ricky Bryant
T Jeromey Clary
RB Larry Croom
QB Brett Elliott
FB Jonathan Evans
LB Akbar Gbaja-Biamila
CB Steve Gregory
TE Kelly Griffeth
RB Tyronne Gross
T Ben Johnson
S Andre Lott
DT Brandon McKinney
S Mitch Meeuwsen
C Nick Mihlhauser
S Hanik Milligan
WR Robert Ortiz
DE Chase Page
RB Ray Perkins
LB Jonathan Pollard
G Wes Sims
DT Alvin Smith

The team's 53-man active roster features 13 new faces, including three players who joined the team in 2006 as free agents – safety Marlon McCree (Carolina), tight end Aaron Shea (Cleveland) and center-guard Cory Withrow; four draft choices and a fifth player acquired in a draft-day trade – cornerback Antonio Cromartie (first-round), tackle Marcus McNeill (second-round), quarterback Charlie Whitehurst (third-round), linebacker Tim Dobbins (fifth-round) and tight end Brandon Manumaleuna, who was acquired by the Chargers from St. Louis in exchange for San Diego's fourth-round choice in this year's draft; and four players who spent all or most of 2005 on the practice squad – wide receivers Greg Camarillo and Malcom Floyd, tackle Cory Lekkerkerker and defensive tackle Ryon Bingham.

Cornerback and return specialist Cletis Gordon is the only undrafted rookie on the 53-man roster. Last year only Marques Harris and Derreck Robinson made the roster as undrafted free agents, both of whom are back on the team this year.

SD Super Chargers Top Stories