Final Ax Falls

The San Diego Chargers released 15 players and placed one more on the injured-reserve list to trim their roster down to 53. There were several surprising cuts, with Bhawoh Jue, Derreck Robinson and Greg Camarillo atop the list. The team kept all of its draft picks for the first time since 2003.

The full list of cuts includes safeties Bhawoh Jue and Tra Battle; defensive linemen Derreck Robinson, Andre Coleman, Keith Grennan and Louis Leonard; linebackers Nick Roach, Jyles Tucker and Antwan Applewhite; wide receivers Greg Camarillo and Mark Simmons; offensive linemen Cory Lekkerkerker, Tony Pape and Mark Bihl; and running back Eldra Buckley.

Running back Germaine Race was officially place on the injured-reserve list after undergoing surgery to repair a toe injury suffered in the 33-31 victory over the Arizona Cardinals.

With the surprising release of Jue, the Chargers have just three safeties on the roster. The team compensated by keeping six cornerbacks, including two who joined the team as undrafted free agents in 2006, Gordon and Gregory.

The most difficult decisions came at linebacker, where the team released undrafted rookies Nick Roach and Jyles Tucker after both enjoyed stellar camps. However, Roach was unable to surpass third-round pick Anthony Waters or seventh-round selection Brandon Siler. Tucker made a run at Marques Harris' spot but came up just short.

Robinson got lost in the shuffle after Ted Cottrell decided to move Ryon Bingham to defensive end. The team kept Bingham over Robinson because Bingham is more versatile and harder working.

Camarillo was released after Norv Turner decided against placing Eric Parker on the physically-unable-to-perform list. Parker was originally expected to miss the first six weeks of the season but has gotten ahead of schedule in his rehabilitation.

Second-year pro Jeromey Clary made the team after proving his versatility during the preseason. In the 16-13 win over the San Francisco 49ers, Clary showed his ability to play left tackle -- something Lekkerkerker cannot do.

The Chargers will sign eight players to the practice squad within the next 48 hours. Leading candidates include Tucker, Roach, Coleman and Battle.

SD Super Chargers Top Stories