Bye Week Implications

Although the Chargers did not play this week, all of their divisional rivals did play. These games will affect the end of the year standings, and who makes the playoffs. With the new playoff format, only 2 teams not leading their division will make the playoffs.

In the early game of the day, Oakland lost to Kansas City 20-10. Oakland (4-3) has now lost three in a row and is reeling after being 4-0 to start the season. Kansas City inches to the .500 mark at 4-4 with the win and finally got some defense.

Denver beat the defending Super Bowl Champs by a score of 24-16, and is now 6-2, just a ½ game behind idle San Diego. Denver is also the sole team to beat the Chargers this season and it looks like they will be the sturdiest competition the Bolts will face on their quest for a playoff berth.

The AFC West is the only division where all four teams are at .500 or above. Each member of the West is still well within the playoff hunt, and as we exit week 8 of the season we enter the stretch run.

The Chargers have a tough schedule starting with the Jets at home next week, while the Raiders face the 49ers, and Denver and Kansas City are off.

Chargers: Sun. Nov. 3 NEW YORK JETS, Sun. Nov. 10 @ St. Louis, Sun. Nov. 17 SAN FRANCISCO, Sun. Nov. 24 @ Miami, Sun. Dec. 1 DENVER, Sun. Dec. 8 OAKLAND, Sun. Dec. 15 @ Buffalo, Sun. Dec. 22 @ Kansas City, Sun. Dec. 29 SEATTLE.

Broncos: Sun. Nov. 3 BYE, Mon. Nov. 11 OAKLAND, Sun. Nov. 17 @Seattle, Sun. Nov. 24 INDIANAPOLIS, Sun. Dec. 1 @San Diego, Sun. Dec. 8 @NY Jets, Sun. Dec. 15 KANSAS CITY, Sun. Dec. 22 @Oakland, Sun. Dec. 29 ARIZONA.

Oakland: Sun. Nov. 3 49ERS, Mon Nov. 11 @Broncos, Sun. Nov. 17 PATRIOTS, Sun. Nov. 24 @Cardinals, Mon. Dec. 2 JETS, Sun. Dec. 8 @Chargers, Sun. Dec. 15 @Miami, Sun. Dec. 22 BRONCOS, Sat. Dec. 28 KANSAS CITY.

Kansas City: Sun. Nov. 10 @ 49ERS, Sun. Nov. 17 BUFFALO, Sun. Nov. 24 @Seattle, Sun. Dec. 1 ARIZONA, Sun. Dec. 8 RAMS, Sun. Dec. 15 @Denver, Sun. Dec. 22 SAN DIEGO, Sun. Dec. 29 @Oakland.

All home games are in CAPS.

SD Super Chargers Top Stories