Steve Mitchell/USA TODAY Sports

Six Colts Make ESPN All-AFC South Team

One obvious absence is injured quarterback Andrew Luck.

ESPN’s All-AFC South Team includes six Indianapolis Colts, although it’s fair to say that’s far less than what was expected if going on previous years.

But as everyone knows, the Colts had a rough year. The two-time defending champions dropped to 8-8 and failed to make the playoffs for the first time since 2011.

Three-time Pro Bowl quarterback Andrew Luck missing nine games due to injuries also meant his obvious spot was taken by Jacksonville’s Blake Bortles (although few would argue which passer is better).

Those Colts who made the team were wide receiver T.Y. Hilton, safeties Mike Adams and Dwight Lowery, punter Pat McAfee, kicker Adam Vinatieri and kickoff returner Quan Bray.

An argument about players snubbed would start with Colts leading tackler D'Qwell Jackson, who ranked second in the league in stops. The team’s inside linebackers were the Texans’ Brian Cushing and Tennessee Titans’ Avery Williamson.

Colts cornerback Vontae Davis joined Hilton and Adams in the Pro Bowl, but he didn't make the division list. Davis is regarded as one of the league's better cover corners, although he allowed seven touchdown passes in 2015.

The team didn’t have an offensive left guard, although Colts second-year pro Jack Mewhort could have been considered. The former second-round pick played two games at right tackle before shifting back to left guard and an argument could be made he was the team's best offensive lineman this past season. Granted, the Colts' O-line had its share of struggles.

The Jaguars had eight selections, the division champion Texans seven and the Titans four.

ESPN All-AFC South Team


QB: Blake Bortles (Jaguars)

WR: DeAndre Hopkins (Texans)

WR: T.Y. Hilton (Colts)

WR: Allen Robinson (Jaguars)

TE: Delanie Walker (Titans)

LT: Duane Brown (Texans)

LG: None selected

C: Ben Jones (Texans)

RG: A.J. Cann (Jaguars)

RT: Jermey Parnell (Jaguars)

RB: TJ Yeldon (Jaguars)


DE: J.J. Watt (Texans)

NT: Roy Miller (Jaguars)

DE: Jurrell Casey (Titans)

OLB: Whitney Mercilus (Texans)

ILB: Brian Cushing (Texans)

ILB: Avery Williamson (Titans)

OLB: Brian Orakpo (Titans)

CB: Johnathan Joseph (Texans)

S: Mike Adams (Colts)

S: Dwight Lowery (Colts)

CB: Davon House (Jaguars)


P: Pat McAfee (Colts)

K: Adam Vinatieri (Colts)

PR: Rashad Greene (Jaguars)

KR: Quan Bray (Colts)

Phillip B. Wilson also can be found on Facebook and Google+.

Colts Blitz Top Stories