Nine Players Released

With the NFL mandated 53-man roster now quickly approaching, teams around the league are trimming down their rosters. The Cowboys announced nine cuts on Tuesday, including running back Aveion Cason.

Cason, the fourth-year running back rushed for 220 yards last season to go along with two touchdowns. With Julius Jones and Eddie George expected to receive a bulk of the carries this season, and the emergence ReShard Lee, Cason figured to be the odd man out.

The Cowboys also waived linebacker Markus Steele, punter Ryan Flinn, cornerback Donald Mitchell, defensive tackles Shaun Smith and Dave Volk, defensive ends Darrell Lee and John Taylor and wide receiver Cedric James.

The Cowboys also placed center Gennaro DiNapoli on the Physically Unable to Perform list because of a stress fracture in his foot. He will be inactive for the first six weeks of the season before the team must make a decision on whether to put him on the active roster or injured reserve.

CowboysHQ Top Stories